Log in

Ryan Lonergan set to lead Brumbies against Waratahs in opening trial

Thu, 27/01/2022, 3:01 am
Nathan Williamson
by Nathan Williamson
Ryan Lonergan aces it from 55 metres out on the angle

Brumbies coach Dan McKellar has named scrumhalf Ryan Lonergan as captain for Saturday's trial against the Waratahs in Bowral.

Lonergan, who was named in the Wallabies squad for the Rugby Championship, will partner Noah Lolesio, with the pair both left at home by Dave Rennie for the Spring Tour.

Catch every game of the 2022 Super Rugby Pacific season on Stan Sport. Start your Free Sport Trial Now

They are joined in the squad by fellow Wallaby squad members Tom Banks, Darcy Swain, and Scott Sio in the starting side.

The match will mark Banks' first game since he was ruled out of the backend of 2021 with an arm injury.

Banks is joined in the backline by new recruits Chris Feauai-Sautia and Ollie Sapsford as well as Brumbies pathways speedster Declan Meredith.

Meanwhile, the Brumbies have opted to start former Junior Wallabies hooker Billy Pollard in the front-row alongside Sio and pathways prop Remsy Lemisio.

Tom Hooper completes the tight five as he joins Swain in the second-row, with Charlie Cale, Rory Scott and the returning Jahrome Brown rounding out the forward pack.

Wallabies Lachlan Lonergan and Len Ikitau are amogst an extended bench along with Wallaby squad members Nick Frost and Andy Muirhead as McKellar opts to ease his returning Internationals back into action.


CAPTAINS: Wright, McDermott to captain Reds

RETIREMENT: Perrett calls time on ref career

TRIALS: Every pre-season match for Australian sides

They are joined by new recruits Ed Kennedy, Ollie Sapsford, Jesse Mogg and Cam Clark in their lone trial against Super opposition before their clash with the Force.

“We’re excited about this group that will represent the Brumbies for the first time in 2022," McKellar said in a statement.

“We wanted to get the right balance in the side, giving those who have been working hard since the start of preseason an opportunity with a view to getting others ready for round one.

“Given the amount of rugby some of our Wallabies played in 2021, we felt it was best to get some more work into them away from this game but they will all have a run in our internal trial and will be available for February 19 against the Force.”

The trial will be broadcast live on NSW Rugby TV, powered by Cluch.


  1. Scott Sio
  2. Billy Pollard
  3. Remsy Lemisio*
  4. Darcy Swain
  5. Tom Hooper
  6. Charlie Cale*
  7. Rory Scott
  8. Jahrome Brown
  9. Ryan Lonergan (C) 
  10. Noah Lolesio 
  11. Declan Meredith*
  12. Irae Simone
  13. Hudson Creighton*
  14. Chris Feauai-Sautia*
  15. Tom Banks


Lachlan Lonergan

Harry Vella

Tom Ross

Cadeyrn Neville

Nick Frost

Ed Kennedy*

Luke Reimer

Titi Nofoagatatoa*

Lachie Albert

Rod Iona

Andy Muirhead

Ollie Sapsford*

Len Ikitau

Cam Clark*

Jesse Mogg

Nick Chapman*

Nathan Carroll*

*Denotes first appearance for the Brumbies

Rugby.com.au Logo

The Rugby.com.au are a proud part of Rugby AU

© 2021 Australian Rugby. All rights reserved.