Lote locked in for Brisbane Tens

Beth Newman Profile
by Beth Newman

Lote Tuqiri will be make his NSW return at the Brisbane Tens, the side's wildcard for the inaugural competition.

Tuqiri was rumoured to be making a comeback in the tournament, with his involvement confirmed on Tuesday as part of a 26-man squad.

The 37-year-old last played for the Waratahs in 2009, with stints in Leicester and Leinster since then as well as a four-year return to NRL, where he played for the Wests Tigers and won a premiership with the Rabbitohs.

Tuqiri joins a handful of former players coming out of retirement for the competition, including Reds legend Chris Latham and Brumbies duo Stephen Larkham and Andrew Walker.

Israel Folau, a paid Tens ambassador, will be the only regular Wallabies starter in the NSW lineup, with coach Daryl Gibson opting to leave out captain Michael Hooper, flyhalf Bernard Foley and scrumhalf Nick Phipps.

Foley and Phipps would have been handy weapons for the Tens, having represented Australia in Sevens early on in their careers.

Hulking winger Taqele Naiyaravoro will link up with the squad after a season in Japan, set to face off against his Japanese Top League teammates from Panasonic in the pool matches.

Last year's Test debutants Tolu Latu and Tom Robertson have been included in the squad, along with Wallabies development player Andrew Kellaway.

Mack Mason had a perfect night with the boot. Photo: SportographyAustralia U20s playmaker Mack Mason will have a chance to show his quality on the big stage for the first time, after moving down from Queensland to sign a development contract with the Waratahs

Former Sevens player Pat McCutcheon is also set to make a rugby return, after taking on a mentoring and coaching role with his former Super Rugby club, while his former teammates Con Foley and Cam Clark will make their Waratahs debuts in the tournament.


Waratahs squad for the Brisbane Global Tens

Israel Folau

Tolu Latu

Tom Robertson

Taqele Naiyaravoro

Paddy Ryan

Hugh Roach

Damien Fitzpatrick

Ned Hanigan

Ryan Mccauley

Michael Wells

Rory O'connor

Patrick Mccutcheon

Brad Wilkin

Jamason Schultz

Matt Lucas

Jake Gordon

Mack Mason

Bryce Hegarty

David Horwitz

Andrew Deegan

Con Foley

Andrew Kellaway

Cam Clark

Harry Jones

Reece Robinson

Lote Tuqiri