Wallaroos name team to face Auckland Storm

Beth Newman Profile
by Beth Newman

The Wallaroos have named their team for the first match of their New Zealand tour, against an Auckland XV.

Arriving in Auckland on Monday, the Wallaroos have had little time to prepare for the opening game, which kicks off on Tuesday .

Inside centre Cheyenne Campbell will captain the side, which includes 11 uncapped players as well as veterans Louise Burrows and Molle Gray.

Developing playmaker Chloe Leaupepe will steer the side at 10, with captain Ash Hewson rested ahead of the side's big trans-Tasman test at Eden Park on Saturday.

Wallabies captain Stephen Moore and Wallaroos captain Ash Hewson ahead of this weekend's historic double header. Photo: Getty ImagesWallaroos coach Paul Verrell said the match would be a good opening test for the side.

"This will be our first test as a squad in 2016. The match will give us an opportunity to implement what we’ve been practicing in camp, and to get ourselves match-ready for the Tests against the Black Ferns," he said. 

“For many of these players this will be their first time representing their country, which is an honour that everyone appreciates.

“We are looking forward to returning to the playing field as a national team and testing ourselves against Auckland.” 

The Wallaroos take on Auckland at 1pm AEDT on Tuesday.

October 18: Trial Match – Auckland Storm v Buildcorp Wallaroos, 1pm AEDT

October 22: First Test - New Zealand v Buildcorp Wallaroos, Eden Park, 2pm AEDT

October 26: Second Test - New Zealand v Buildcorp Wallaroos, 12:30pm AEDT

Wallaroos team

1. Emily Robinson

2. Ivy Kaleta

3. Louise Burrows

4. Alisha Hewett

5. Chloe Butler

6. Mollie Gray

7. Ariana Kaiwai

8. Vesinia Schaaf Taufa

9. Katrina Barker

10. Chloe Leaupepe

11. Madeline Putz

12. Cheyenne Campbell

13. Nareta Marsters

14. Cobie Jane Morgan

15. Sarah Riordan


16. Alanna Patison

17. Liz Patu

18. Danielle Meskell

19. Rebecca Clough

20. Grace Hamilton

21. Kirby Sefo

22. Hanna Sio

23. Iliseva Batibasga