McReight, Arnold set to start as Wallabies confirm side to face Argentina

Wed, Jul 12, 2023, 11:27 PM
Nathan Williamson
by Nathan Williamson
The Springboks kicked off the 2023 Rugby Championship against the Wallabies

Wallabies coach Eddie Jones has confirmed his side to face Argentina on July 15, making five changes from the starting XV that went down to South Africa.

Co-captain Michael Hooper has been ruled out with a foot injury, with Reds flanker Fraser McReight coming into the starting side.

Click here for your chance to win a box for Wallabies v Argentina

He is joined in the back row by Jed Holloway as Tom Hooper deals with a shoulder injury.

Richie Arnold will also start in his first game after last week's debut, partnering fellow France-based lock Will Skelton.

Samu Kerevi will start alongside Len Ikitau in the centres as he continues his return from injury.

Mark Nawaqanitawase will play his first game of 2023 after a breakthrough Spring Tour last year.

He combines with Marika Koroibete and Tom Wright at the back, with halves Quade Cooper and Nic White completing the backline.

“As a squad we’re running a marathon this year, and we didn’t get off the start line like we wanted to, but we get another opportunity to find our rhythm this weekend against a tough Argentinian side," Jones said in a statement.

“We have two Tests on home soil this year, so we have to have to roll up our sleeves on Saturday and put in a performance that drives Australians to show pride in the Wallabies.”

On the bench, the Wallabies are boosted by the return of prop Angus Bell, who has recovered from a foot injury.

Along with this, Josh Kemeny is set to become Wallaby 968, with the utility named as part of a 6/2 split.

Kemeny is joined by Rebels teammates Matt Philip and Rob Leota after they overcame long-term injuries.

Leota has not featured since last year's Bledisloe Cup after rupturing his Achilles.

Rebels teammate Carter Gordon retains his spot after a solid debut alongside Tate McDermott

The Wallabies’ Test against Argentina will be broadcast live on the Nine Network with extended coverage on Stan Sport.

Wallabies team to play Argentina at CommBank Stadium, Sydney on Saturday 15 July, 7:45pm AEST

1. James Slipper (c) (128 Tests)

2. David Porecki (11 Tests)

3. Allan Alaalatoa (65 Tests)

4. Richie Arnold (1 Test)

5. Will Skelton (25 Tests)

6. Jed Holloway (10 Tests)

7. Fraser McReight (10 Tests)

8. Rob Valetini (31 Tests)

9. Nic White (60 Tests)

10. Quade Cooper (77 Tests)

11. Marika Koroibete (52 Tests)

12. Samu Kerevi (42 Tests)

13. Len Ikitau (27 Tests)

14. Mark Nawaqanitawase (3 Tests)

15. Tom Wright (24 Tests)


16. Jordan Uelese (16 Tests)

17. Angus Bell (20 Tests)

18. Pone Fa’amausili (3 Tests)

19. Matt Philip (27 Tests)

20. Rob Leota (13 Tests)

21. Josh Kemeny*

22. Tate McDermott (22 Tests)

23. Carter Gordon (1 Test)