Wallabies make eight changes for deciding France Test

Thu, 15/07/2021, 04:13 am
Nathan Williamson
by Nathan Williamson
The French out muscle the Wallabies to steal it at the death in Melbourne

Wallabies coach Dave Rennie has made eight changes to the starting side for their deciding Test against France.

Reds scrumhalf Tate McDermott has been elevated to the starting side after a series of strong performances off the bench, partnering Noah Lolesio in the halves.

Get your tickets now for the deciding Test as the Wallabies face France!

He is joined in the starting side by Len Ikitau and Darcy Swain, with the Brumbies pair and close mates set to start in their first Test.

Swain partners Lukhan Salakaia-Loto in the locks, with Allan Alaalatoa replacing Taniela Tupou in the front-row to complete the tight five.

Meanwhile, Rennie has opted to freshen up his back-row, headlined by the return of Lachie Swinton.

Swinton slots into blindside flanker alongside captain and Waratahs team-mate Michael Hooper, with Isi Naisarani selected at number eight after the short-turnaround.

Taniela Tupou with a pearler to Jake Gordon

In the backs, Ikitau joined Hunter Paisami in the centres whilst Filipo Daugunu replaces Tom Wright on the wing.

Jordan Uelese comes into the side, whilst Reece Hodge will also make his first appearance for the Wallabies this year via the bench.

"We always knew with the scheduling of the series against a tough French side, that it would require a full squad effort and we’re going to see that on Saturday night,” Rennie said in a statement.

“We were disappointed with the result in Melbourne and we’ll be out to rectify that with more accuracy and composure in key moments at Suncorp Stadium.

“As always, we’ve picked a team that has earned the right to wear the gold jersey and we’re confident they’ll get the job done in Brisbane.”


1. James Slipper (102 Tests)

2. Brandon Paenga-Amosa (11 Tests)

3. Allan Alaalatoa (45 Tests)

4. Darcy Swain (2 Tests)

5. Lukhan Salakaia-Loto (27 Tests)

6. Lachlan Swinton (1 Test)

7. Michael Hooper (c) (107 Tests)

8. Isi Naisarani (10 Tests)

9. Tate McDermott (4 Tests)

10. Noah Lolesio (4 Tests)

11. Marika Koroibete (36 Tests)

12. Hunter Paisami (8 Tests)

13. Len Ikitau (1 Test)

14. Filipo Daugunu (5 Tests)

15. Tom Banks (13 Tests)


16. Jordan Uelese (12 Tests)

17. Angus Bell (5 Tests)

18. Taniela Tupou (27 Tests)

19. Matt Philip (11 Tests)

20. Rob Valetini (6 Tests)

21. Jake Gordon (7 Tests)

22. Matt To’omua (56 Tests)

23. Reece Hodge (45 Tests)

Wallaby Douglas urges Bordeaux-Begles to 'rock up in defence' against Toulouse
Both Sevens sides have ended day one undefeated. Photo: Mike Lee/World Rugby
Australia Sevens teams flying in Dubai
Mature Mogg looking to show off development on Brumbies return
The 2022 draw has been confirmed for the Premier Rugby competition. Photo: QRU/Brendan Hertel
QRU confirm Premier Rugby draw for 2022 season
Rugby.com.au Logo

The Rugby.com.au are a proud part of Rugby AU

© 2021 Australian Rugby. All rights reserved.