Log in

Samu Kerevi named in Australia's squad for Oceania Sevens Championship

Thu, 17/06/2021, 2:30 am
Nathan Williamson
by Nathan Williamson
The Chiefs dominated the Waratahs at Brookvale Oval

Former Wallaby Samu Kerevi has been named in Australia's squad for the inaugural PacificAus Sport Oceania 7s Championship.

Kerevi made the trip home following his stint with Suntory as he pushes for Olympic selection.

Watch every minute of the Oceania Sevens on Stan Sport. Start your Free Sport Trial Now

He is joined by returning Super Rugby players Lewis Holland, Lachie Anderson and Tim Anstee in their final hit-out before the Tokyo Olympics.

The side is also boosted by the return of Joe Pincus from injury, with Nick Malouf captaining the squad.

"The attitude we took through COVID has delivered a highly competitive squad in which to select from. Players who wouldn’t have dreamt of being considered for selection are now in the mix and representing the program at an elite level," coach Tim Walsh said in a statement.

“The addition of Samu is a welcome achievement for the program and underpins one of the program’s objectives – Retain, Recruit and Develop the best Australian rugby players.

“We are grateful for the cooperation by Suntory in making Samu an option for selection

“Our objective is to return home from Tokyo and into quarantine with a “No Regret” performance. This will only be achieved with meticulous planning and preparation as a team and as individuals.

“Townsville is a part of final preparations and will offer us an opportunity to play against some pretty decent opposition including the Oceania Barbarians team."

Mark Nawaqanitawase goes up high for the try

Australia will face gold medalists Fiji to kick off the tournament before taking on New Zealand in the evening session.

They will also take on the Oceania Barbarians, which is set to be made up of contracted players from the Sevens program and across the 15-a-side game.


1. Pama Fou

2. Nick Malouf (c)

3. Joe Pincus

4. Henry Hutchison

5. Lewis Holland

6. Lachlan Anderson

7. Josh Coward

8. Samu Kerevi

9. Dietrich Roache

10. Dylan Pietsch

11. Josh Turner

12. Lachlan Miller

13. Tim Anstee


WC BID: Successful bid 'gateway' to next-gen

TRANS-TASMAN: Blues journey to Final

NEXT LEVEL: Swain transforming Wallabies pack

Rugby.com.au Logo

The Rugby.com.au are a proud part of Rugby AU

© 2021 Australian Rugby. All rights reserved.