Max Douglas claims Ken Catchpole Medal

Thu, Aug 11, 2022, 12:19 AM
Nathan Williamson
by Nathan Williamson
Manly lock Max Douglas has claimed the 2022 Ken Catchpole Medal. Photo: Karen Watson for Sydney Rugby Union
Manly lock Max Douglas has claimed the 2022 Ken Catchpole Medal. Photo: Karen Watson for Sydney Rugby Union

Manly lock Max Douglas has claimed the Ken Catchpole Medal as Shute Shield's Player of the Year.

Douglas was awarded the honour on Wednesday night after a breakout season for the Marlins.

Catch every game of the 2022 Shute Shield season on Stan Sport. Start your Free Sport Trial Now

The 22-year-old ended the season with six tries, 17 tackle busts, five clean breaks and a near-perfect tackle success rate of 95.7% to take out the award, which reportedly went down to the final round.

It caps a remarkable rise through the ranks, taking out Waratahs Rookie of the Year just 12 months earlier.

The award comes at the perfect time for the young lock, heading to the open market after the Super Rugby club confirmed he would not return in 2023.

Douglas will be looking to guide Manly to the preliminary finals as they take on minor premiers Norths at North Sydney Oval on August 13.

Warringah flyhalf Conor Hickey took out Rookie of the Year after a strong season, finishing the year with five tries as he guided the Rats to sixth.

Scott Coleman and Sam Hedger shared the David Brockhoff Medal for coach of the year after impressive work with Hunter and Sydney Uni respectively.

Coleman nearly delivered a maiden finals berth to the Wildfires, stunning the competition as he engineered wins over Uni, Randwick and Manly (twice).

Meanwhile, Hedger enjoyed a successful rookie season at the helm of the students, guiding them to second place and a Qualifying Final against Randwick on August 13.

Wildfires hooker Phil Bradford ended the season as the leading try-scorer with 17 whilst Gordon ace Reece MacDonald took out the Roscoe Fay Trophy as the highest point-scorer.

2022 Charter Hall Shute Shield winners

Ken Catchpole Medal / 2022 Player of the Year: Max Douglas (Manly)

2022 Rookie of the Year: Conor Hickey (Warringah)

David Brockhoff Medal / 2022 Coach of the Year (shared): Scott Coleman (Hunter Wildfires) and Sean Hedger (Sydney University)

Dick Byres Medal / 2022 Referee of the Year: David Conway

Roscoe Fay Trophy / 2022 Highest Point Scorer: Reece MacDonald (Gordon)

2022 Highest Try Scorer: Phillip Bradford (Hunter Wildfires)

2022 Charter Hall Community Spirit Award: Chris Hedge

ES Marks Memorial Shield / 2022 Minor Premiers: Northern Suburbs

Gregor George Trophy / 2022 Club Champions: Sydney University

Jeffrey Sayle Trophy / 2022 Grade Club Champions: Sydney University

Eric Spilsted Shield / 2022 Colts Club Champions: Sydney University

Sir Roden Cutler Shield (retained after win at home): Randwick


*All games live on Stan Sport


Norths v Manly: North Sydney Oval. 3:10pm

Sydney Uni v Randwick: Sydney University Football Ground, 3:30pm

Eastwood v Eastern Suburbs: Eric Tweedale Stadium, 3:30pm


Warringah v Gordon: Pittwater Rugby Park, 3:05pm

Wallaby winger Marika Koroibete once again has showcased his talent, bagging his second try-scoring double in a week. Photo: Getty Images
Koroibete's hot streak continues in Japan for Wild Knights
Foote praises Lancaster as Rebels edge closer to finals
James Ramm continues to shine for Northampton. Photo: Getty Images
Ramm double helps Northampton thump Bulls to reach Champions Cup semis
'I surprise myself': Harrison opens on game-winner as Coleman reflects on critical Coogee Beach discussions