Uni 7s stars picked for Oceania litmus test

Beth Newman Profile
by Beth Newman

A host of rising Australian Sevens stars will have the chance to test themselves at the international level in this weekend's Oceania 7s.

This year's Oceania championship doubles as an Olympic qualifier but with Australia already through to Tokyo 2020, the women will be playing in a separate draw to those yet to qualify.

The Aussies will take on Canada and New Zealand in their matches, a timely test for some of their emerging players.

Uni 7s stars Georgia Hannaway and Rachel Crothers will feature in the group after impressing in the domestic tournament, among a number of other players who stood out in this year's Series.

It's not all new faces, though, wiht Demi Hayes returning from injury for her first international hitout since the USA 7s in October 2018 and capped players Shannon Parry, Sariah Pakii, Cassie Staples, Madison Ashby, Lauren Brown, Rhiannon Byers and Mahalia Murphy in the squad.

Aussie Sevens coach John Manenti said the Oceania tournament would be a good opportunity for his team.

"We’ve been building well into our season over the last few weeks and the Oceania Sevens gives us a great opportunity to continue to do so," he said.

“This tournament is tough, and we know just how hard teams will be coming at us this year.

“It’s fantastic for Demi (Hayes) to be back in the fold, she’s been working very hard to make sure she is in the best physical condition and she’s hungry for game time which is great for the group.”

The Oceania 7s kicks off on Thursday November 7, LIVE on the Oceania Rugby Facebook page.


Australian Women's Sevens for Oceania Sevens

1. Shannon Parry (c), University of Sydney, QLD

2. Faith Nathan, University of Technology Sydney, NSW

3. Sariah Paki, University of Technology Sydney, NSW

4. Cassandra Staples, University of Queensland, NSW

5. Hagiga Mosby, University of Queensland, QLD

6. Georgia Hannaway, University of Queensland, QLD

7. Rachel Crothers, University of Canberra, ACT

8. Madison Ashby, University of Technology Sydney, NSW

9. Lauren Brown, Bond University, QLD

10. Demi Hayes, Griffith University, QLD

11. Rhiannon Byers, University of New England, NSW

12. Mahalia Murphy, University of Adelaide, NSW


All times AEDT

Thursday November 7

12:56pm  - Australia vs Canada

Friday November 8

11:06am - Australia vs New Zealand