SQUAD NEWS: Wallaroos make three changes for New Zealand series

Womens International
Beth Newman Profile
by Beth Newman

The Wallarops have made three changes to their squad as they prepare to face the world no. 1 Black Ferns next month.

Australia took out their first home series win earlier this month with victories over Japan in Newcastle and North Sydney but New Zealand will pose a more difficult challenge.

ACT's Shellie Millward,Queensland's Alana Elisaia and Iliseva Batibasaga will all come into the group for their next two Tests, with Australia facing New Zealand in Perth on august 10 and Auckland on August 17.

Kiri Lingman will miss the series with a shoulder injury while halfback Cobie-Jane Morgan is unavailable for personal reasons and Queensland's Asako Ono has been overlooked after featuring in the Japan series.

Wallaroos coach Dwayne Nestor said picking the final sides for those two Tests would not be an easy task.

We have got two great opportunities over the next month against New Zealand and we’re really looking forward to the challenge," he said.

“A double header Test at Optus Stadium is going to make for a great occasion and the squad has really talked about making sure that we rise to that and work hard for each other in the gold jersey.

“As a coaching group we have had some great selection headaches over the last month with every player in the squad putting their hands up for selection in the starting XV.

“That attitude is key for the next three weeks and we’re looking forward to reconvening in Perth and getting back into the hard work.

“Michelle, Alana and Ili each bring something different to this squad and it shows the depth we are continuing to build that you can bring in three top class players into this outfit without missing a beat.” 

The Wallaroos take on New Zealand in Perth on August 10 and in Auckland on August 17. Both games are LIVE on FOX SPORTS, Kayo and via RUGBY.com.au RADIO.


Wallaroos squad for New Zealand series


Millie Boyle (vc), Royals (Canberra), Queensland Women’s XV

Emily Chancellor, Sydney University, NSW Waratahs Women 

Rebecca Clough, Cottesloe, RugbyWA Women

Grace Hamilton (c), Sydney University, NSW Waratahs Women

Alisha Hewett, GPS/ADFRU, Queensland Women’s XV

Evelyn Horomia, Western Sydney, NSW Waratahs Women

Asoiva (Eva) Karpani, Randwick, NSW Waratahs Women 

Michaela Leonard, Vikings, Brumbies Women 

Ashley Marsters, Harlequins, Melbourne Rebels Women 

Michelle Milward, Vikings, Brumbies Women 

Shannon Mato, Sunnybank, Queensland Women’s XV 

Averyl Mitchell, Souths, Queensland Women’s XV 

Sera Naiqama, Sydney University, NSW Waratahs Women 

Liz Patu, Wests, Queensland Women’s XV 

Emily Robinson, Warringah, NSW Waratahs Women 

Christina Sekona, Sunnybank, Queensland Women’s XV 


Iliseva Batibasaga, Sydney University, NSW Waratahs Women 

Mhicca Carter, Cottesloe, RugbyWA Women

Georgia Cormick, Power House, Melbourne Rebels Women

Lori Cramer, University of Queensland, Queensland Women’s XV

Ariana Hira-Herangi, Kalamunda, RugbyWA Women 

Alysia Leafu-Fakaosilea, Sunnybank, Queensland Women’s XV

Arabella McKenzie, Randwick, NSW Waratahs Women 

Mahalia Murphy, Campbelltown, NSW Waratahs Women 

Trilleen Pomare, Kalamunda, RugbyWA Women 

Sarah Riordan, Wests/ADFRU, Queensland Women’s XV 

Alana Elisaia*, Sunnybank, Queensland Women’s XV

Samantha Treherne, Sunnybank Queensland Women’s XV 

*Denotes uncapped


Saturday August  10

Australia vs New Zealand, Optus Stadium, Perth 

Saturday August 17

Australia vs New Zealand, Eden Park, Auckland