Aon Uni 7s expands to five rounds

Wed, 11/07/2018, 12:00 am
Sam Phillips
by Sam Phillips
Cassie Staples was one of the future Aussie Sevens stars uncovered at last year's Aon Uni 7s. Photo: Getty Images
Cassie Staples was one of the future Aussie Sevens stars uncovered at last year's Aon Uni 7s. Photo: Getty Images

The Aon Uni 7s will break new ground this year, expanding to five rounds for the second edition of the tournament.

The tournament will now run from August through to October and will feature University of Melbourne and University of Sydney sides - making it a 10 team competition.

The season will start in Hobart before travelling to Canberra, Brisbane, the Gold Coast and Adelaide - with all matches to be played at the host university in the respective cities.Will UQ go back to back? Photo: Getty Images“The expansion of the Aon University Sevens Series to five rounds shows the depth and ambition of not only our cohort of teams but the players who will be competing in 2018," Rugby Australia General Manager High Performance Ben Whitaker said.

"With a five-round competition, the series now almost mirrors the number of events on the HSBC Women’s Sevens World Series, which is only going to enhance the series as a player pathway to prepare the next generation of Australian Sevens players for what’s required at the highest level..

"With five great university locations we will also get to showcase rugby Sevens to new groups of sports fans around the country, supported by a quality broadcast from which will make the competition accessible to all rugby fans."


Aon Uni 7s 2018 Sevens series

Round 1 - August 25-26

University of Tasmania, Hobart

Round 2 - September 8-9

University of Canberra, Canberra

Round 3 - September 22-23

University of Queensland, Brisbane

Round 4 - October 6-7

Bond University, Gold Coast

Round 5 - October 20-21

The University of Adelaide, Adelaide

Feleti Kaitu'u is refusing to be intimidated by his Kiwi counterparts Photo: Getty Images
Western Force refusing to back down against Kiwi opponents
The Rebels will be looking to feed Marika Koroibete the ball throughout Super Rugby Trans-Tasman | Getty Images
Rebels out to utilise Koroibete strengths
The Wallaroos have announced that they will face off with Samoa in a two-test series
Wallaroos announce two-test series with Samoa
Will Harrison is set to return for the Waratahs ahead of Super Rugby Trans-Tasman. Photo: Getty Images
Waratahs taking aggressive approach into Trans-Tasman as reinforcements emerge Logo

The are a proud part of Rugby AU

© 2021 Australian Rugby. All rights reserved.