Gilmore makes four changes to Junior Wallabies side

World Rugby U20s Championship
by Sam Phillips

Junior Wallabies coach Jason Gilmore has made four changes to the starting XV which fell to New Zealand, as the Australians prepare for a fifth place playoff semi final against Italy.

Three of the four changes have been made in the backs, Ryan Lonergan given the nod to start at halfback in place of Tate McDermott, Bayley Kuenzle named at inside centre ahead of Isaac Lucas and Lawson Creighton earning a start at fullback ahead of Mack Hansen.

Up front, Pat Tafa will start at No. 8, Josh Kemeny dropping out of the 23 altogether.Ryan Lonergan will resume starting halfback duties. Photo: AFPThe changes don't stop there, though, with the bench taking an entirely different shape.

Hooker Matt Faessler and prop George Francis are the pair that retained their places - Charlie Hancock, Hugh Margin, Rory Suttor, Tate McDermott, Will Harrison and Mack Hansen all taking seats on the pine.

Should they beat Italy, the Australians will face the winner of Argentina's clash with Wales.

The Junior Wallabies face Italy U20s on Wednesday morning, kicking off at 12:30am AEST, broadcast LIVE on FOX SPORTS.


Junior Wallabies team to face Italy U20s

1. Harry Hoopert, Queensland, Brothers

2. Efi Ma’afu, Queensland, Wests

3. Tom Ross, ACT, Gungahlin

4. Angus Blyth, Queensland, Bond University

5. Harry Hockings, Queensland, University of Queensland

6. Michael Wood, Queensland, Brothers

7. Fraser McReight, Queensland, Brothers

8. Pat Tafa, NSW, Norths

9. Ryan Lonergan, ACT, Vikings

10. Hamish Stewart, Queensland, Bond University

11. Jordan Petaia, Queensland, Wests

12. Bayley Kuenzle, NSW, Southern Districts

13. Semisi Tupou, Victoria, Box Hill

14. Matt McTaggart, NSW, Easts

15. Lawson Creighton, Queensland, Brothers


16. Matt Faessler, Queensland, Brothers

17. George Francis, NSW, Eastwood

18. Charlie Hancock, NSW, Sydney University

19. Hugh Margin, NSW, Gordon

20. Rory Suttor, NSW, Sydney University

21. Tate McDermott, Queensland, University of Queensland

22. Will Harrison, NSW, Randwick

23. Mack Hansen, ACT Gungahlin