Super W: Brumbies and Force ring changes for final round

Super W
Beth Newman Profile
by Beth Newman

 The Brumbies and Force women have overhauled their sides for the final Super W round, giving new faces a chance to shine.

WA's women fell just two points short of a Super W final berth, going down to Queensland in heartbreaking circumstances last week, and they will be warm favourites for this match-up. 

Tighthead Tai Marshall will make her Super W debut, while in the backline, Huia Swannell moves to inside centre and Zion Taurima has been named on the right wing, with Caitlyn Edwards at fullback.

Force coach Seb Delport said they had their sights set on ensuring they clinched third spot in the competition.

“The clear focus for us is to finish in third spot,” he said.

“The girls are really motivated to get the win this week, clinch that third spot and finish Super W on a good note.” 

“Everyone is just focused on not only finishing this competition on a high but also building our program and looking forward to our matches against Hong Kong at nib stadium on May 13 and in Busselton on May 18.

“We have rewarded a few players this week, a few of the younger ones. They have done a fantastic job throughout the program and everyone selected this week has really earned their place.”

Brumbies coach Tony Doherty has made four changes to his starting XV for their last Super W clash.

Prop Brittany-Lee Bedford replaces Voleta Tupuola in the front row, with the latter one of a handful of players unavailable for the match, while Charlene Gubb comes into the second row, playing alongside skipper Shellie Millward.

Scrumhalf Jane Garraway will replace Remi Wilton (unavailable), whie Ash Kara has been named at 10, with Kiara Meredith-Brown on the pine.

The Brumbies take on the Force at GIO Stadium on Saturday, kicking off at 5pm AEST, 3pm AWST. The match will be shown on delay at 10pm AEST and will be available on after the telecast. Tickets will be $5 on the gate for the match.


Brumbies women to face the Force women

1. Brittney-Lee Bedford

2. Louise Burrows

3. Peta Cox

4. Charlene Gubb

5. Shellie Milward

6. Jess Howard

7. Georgia O’Neill

8. Tayla Stanford

9. Jane Garraway

10. Ash Kara

11. Darcy Read

12. Michelle Perry

13. Paremo Marsh

14. Talei Wilson

15. Sammie Wood


16. Skeda Marsh

17. Anna Koravata

18. Merrin Starr

19. Michaela Leonard

20. Skye Churchill

21. Kiara Meredith-Brown

22. Tania Afamasaga

23. Kiahn Bellchambers

Force women to face Brumbies women

1. Darryl Wickliffe – Wanneroo

2. Tara Reed (vc) - Palmyra

3. Tai Marshall – Palmyra*

4. Katie Barnes – Cottesloe

5. Rebecca Clough – Cottesloe

6. Taylor Waterson – Wanneroo

7. Vesinia Schaaf-Taufa – Palmyra

8. Katherine Outred – Palmyra

9. Kendra Fell – Palmyra

10. Trilleen Pomare (c) – Wanneroo

11. Courtney Hodder – Southern Lions

12. Huia Swannell – Wanneroo

13. Zakiya Kereopa – Nedlands

14. Zion Taurima - Wanneroo

15. Caitlyn Edwards – Palmyra


16. Antoinette Jago – Cottesloe

17. Alex Bannon - Cottesloe

18. Gillian Forde – Cottesloe

19. Kate Alexander – Cottesloe**

20. Terau Pasene-Grennell - Nedlands                    

21. Natalia Tearoa - Wanneroo

22. Ariana Carnachan - Kalamunda

23. Tui Cope - Wanneroo


*Denotes Buildcorp Super W Debut

**Denotes Potential Buildcorp Super W Debut