NRC: Final flashback

Beth Newman Profile
by Beth Newman

Saturday’s NRC final will be the fourth decider in the domestic competition, with a new champion guaranteed to lift the trophy.

How has the title match gone in recent years?


Brisbane City 37 - Perth Spirit 26 

Brisbane Citty took out the inaugural title. Photo: Getty ImagesBrisbane City became the inaugural NRC winners, taking the 2014 final out at Ballymore. Captained by lock Dave McDuling, it was Brisbane’s flanker Liam Gill who stole the show, with a man-of-the-match performance in the match. Junior Rasolea scored the first try, for Perth, in just the fourth minute of the match before Gill hit back four minutes later. The teams exchanged tries as the half went on, and Spirit had the final score, after the final whistle, but by then City had secured the win.


Brisbane City 37

Tries: Gill, Penalty, Paraka, Laloifi

Cons: McIntyre 4

Perth Spirit  26

Tries: Haylett-Petty, Abel, Tavita

Cons: Holmes 2


Brisbane City 21 - Canberra Vikings 10 

Brisbane City went back-to-back in 2015. Photo: Getty ImagesBack-to-back titles for Brisbane City cemented its status as a competition heavyweight, with halfback Nick Frisby leading the way at Ballymore. In a seesawing affair, it took until the 75th minute for City to seal the game, with a try for now Aussie Sevens player Alex Gibbon helping City to a second win. Frisby was named man-of-the match in the gripping encounter, a much lower scoring affair than the inaugural final.


Brisbane City 21

Tries: Neville, Frisby, Gibbon

Cons: McIntyre 2

Canberra Vikings 10

Tries: Fainifo, Thompson

Yellow Card: Abel (38;) 


NSW Country Eagles 16  - Perth Spirit 20

The NRC final went bush in 2016, with the Eagles hosting the Spirit in Tamworth for the final game of the season. It took until after the first half hour for Luke Morahana to open the try-scoring, crossing for thr Spirit, before Two tries for Perth halfback Ryan Louwrens either side of half-time had Spirit hanging on to a lead. The Eagles couldn’t run down their rivals in a physical encounter. Both sides had players carded - two Spirit players  were forced off during the game, while Eagles prop Rown Perry watched on for 10 minutes. Spirit flanker Richard Hardwick was named man of the match after an impressive performance from the 22-year-old in his second title decider. Perth became the first team outside of Brisbane to take the trophy.


NSW Country Eagles 16

Tries: Figg, Hill

Cons: Deegan, Adams

Yellow Card: Perry 

Perth Spirit 20

Tries; Louwrens 2, Morahan

Cons: Tapuai

Yellow Cards: Cowan (48'), Stander (64')

The Canberra Vikings take on Queensland Country in the NRC final on Saturday November 11, kicking off at 7:30pm AEDT, LIVE on FOX SPORTS.