Wallaroos keep faith for France

Womens Rugby World Cup
Beth Newman Profile
by Beth Newman

The Wallaroos have made just one change to their starting side for their second World Cup pool clash, with France.

Coach Paul Verrell has opted to keep the core of his side intact, with centre Sarah Riordan coming into the run-on side, to partner Sharni Williams, shifting Kayla Sauvao to the bench.

Louise Burrows will have her first taste of game time at a fourth World Cup, after being called in for injured prop Evelyn Horomia, the veteran named on the bench against France.

Experienced back Ash Hewson will miss the clash with a niggle.

It's a team with no debutants, a rare occasion for the Wallaroos, who had played just a handful of Tests between World Cups.

That welcome stat gives the side a chance to solidify combinations that showed promise against Ireland, Verrell said.

 “We were really pleased with the way the team performed in their match against Ireland after we made nine changes from the final Test of the New Zealand Tour, and it’s important now that we look to build combinations within the team," he said.

“Our forwards competed well against an experienced Irish pack and they’ll face a similar challenge this Sunday against the French.

“Our backline showed they can be very dangerous with the ball in hand, but we need them to continue to build as we lead into the match against the French. The addition of Sarah Riordan will provide us with another strong ball running option in the midfield.

“The team proved to themselves what they’re capable of in that match against the Irish and now we need them to continue to perform at that level, whilst also looking to grow and develop as a collective unit.”

The Wallaroos take on France on Monday, kicking off at 4:45am AEST LIVE on FOX SPORTS.


IN: Louise Burrows, Ashleigh Timoko

OUT: Violeta Tupuola, Ash Hewson

Wallaroos to face Ireland 

1. Liz Patu – Queensland, Wests

2. Cheyenne Campbell – Queensland, Redlands

3. Hilisha Samoa – Queensland, Brothers

4. Chloe Butler – South Australia, Parramatta

5. Millie Boyle – ACT, Canberra Royals

6. Mollie Gray – Australian Defence Force (ADRFU), NSW, Maitland

7. Shannon Parry – Australian Sevens, Queensland, Redlands

8. Grace Hamilton – Sydney, Sydney University

9. Katrina Barker – NSW Country, Newcastle University

10. Trilleen Pomare – Western Australia, Wanneroo

11. Mahalia Murphy – Australian Sevens, NSW, Campbell Town

12. Sharni Williams – Australian Sevens, ACT, Canberra Royals

13. Sarah Riordan – Australian Defence Force (ADRFU), Victoria, Melbourne

14. Nareta Marsters – Queensland, Sunnybank

15. Samantha Treherne – Queensland, Sunnybank


16. Louise Burrows – ACT, Royals

17. Emily Robinson – Sydney, Warringah

18. Hana Ngaha – Queensland, Sunnybank

19. Rebecca Clough – Western Australia, Cottesloe

20. Alisha Hewett – Australian Defence Force (ADRFU), Queensland, GPS

21. Fenella Hake – Queensland, Redlands

22. Kayla Sauvao – Sydney, Parramatta

23. Ashleigh Timoko – Western Australia, Wanneroo