Boks name uncapped trio for TRC opener

The Rugby Championship
by AFP

South Africa named uncapped Curwin Bosch, Warrick Gelant and Daniel du Preez in a 34-man squad on Saturday for a Rugby Championship opener against Argentina in Port Elizabeth on August 19.

But coach Allister Coetzee must do without first-choice Springboks skipper Warren Whiteley, who is recovering from a groin injury sustained in a 3-0 June series victory over France.

Abrasive lock Eben Etzebeth got rave reviews after standing in as captain in the final win over the French and is likely to continue in that role.

Bosch, who can perform at flyhalf or fullback, starred for the Sharks in Super Rugby this season, finishing as the second-highest points scorer with 140.

The 20-year-old missed the France series because it clashed with the Under-20 World Cup in Georgia.

Bulls fullback Gelant has recovered from a lengthy injury absence to impress as an attacker from deep positions.

Daniel du Preez, the son of former Springboks scrumhalf Robert, joins brother and fellow loose forward Jean-Luc in the squad for the Test at Nelson Mandela Bay Stadium.

"I always said it must be difficult for a player to force himself into the squad," noted South Africa coach Allister Coetzee.

"So I am really pleased that, through their performances, they have earned selection to the Springbok group."

Only seven Lions were selected with winger Ruan Combrinck a surprise omission having recovered from a serious injury.  

"The next six contests will be completely different to what we faced against France in June," warned Coetzee.

"We will have to work even harder to meet these tough challenges against the Pumas, Wallabies and All Blacks.

"Thorough preparations will once again be crucial to our Rugby Championship campaign."


South Africa


Eben Etzebeth

Steven Kitshoff

Siya Kolisi

Frans Malherbe

Bongi Mbonambi

Pieter-Steph du Toit (all Western Stormers)

Tendai Mtawarira 

Coenie Oosthuizen

Daniel du Preez

Jean-Luc du Preez

Chiliboy Ralepelle (all Sharks)

Lizo Gqoboka

Lood de Jager

Trevor Nyakane (all Bulls)

Jaco Kriel

Malcolm Marx,

Franco Mostert (all Lions),

Uzair Cassiem,

Oupa Mohoje (both Cheetahs)


Warrick Gelant

Jesse Kriel

Rudy Paige

Handre Pollard

Jan Serfontein (all Bulls)

Andries Coetzee

Ross Cronje

Elton Jantjies

Courtnall Skosan (all Lions)

Damian de Allende

Dillyn Leyds (both Stormers)

Raymond Rhule

Francois Venter (both Cheetahs)

Curwin Bosch (Sharks)

Francois Hougaard (Worcester/ENG)