Rebels unchanged for first time in 27 games

Super Rugby
by Sam Phillips

Tony McGahan has named an unchanged starting XV to for the Rebels' first Australian derby of 2017.

For the first time in 27 matches, McGahan will run out the same starting XV against the Waratahs that he did against the Chiefs last Friday.

The consistency on the team sheet is a welcome sight for Rebels fans, as the team put in a resurgent performance against the Super Rugby-leading Chiefs before being pipped at the post.Lopeti Timani is a big in for the Rebels this week. Photo: Getty ImagesThere have been some changes on the bench, though - with Lopeti Timani, Mitch Inman, Tom Moloney and Welsh import Dominic Day all to grace the pine.

Timani missed last Friday's clash with a knee knock but has been passed fit to play, while Day, who has three caps for Wales, is set to make his Super Rugby debut.

James Hanson will also earn his 100th Super Rugby cap when he runs onto AAMI Park.


1. Fereti Sa’aga

2. James Hanson

3. Laurie Weeks

4. Culum Retallick

5. Steve Cummins

6. Jordy Reid

7. Colby Fainga’a

8. Amanaki Mafi

9. Nic Stirzaker (Captain)

10. Jackson Garden-Bachop

11. Marika Koroibete

12. Reece Hodge

13. Tom English

14. Sefa Naivalu

15. Jack Debreczeni

Reserves (one to be omitted)

16. Pat Leafa

17. Tom Moloney

18. Tyrel Lomax

19. Dominic Day

20. Lopeti Timani

21. Jake Schatz

22. Ben Meehan

23. Mitch Inman

24. Ben Volavola

The Rebels take on the Waratahs at AAMI Park on Friday night, kicking off at 7:45pm AEDT, broadcast LIVE on FOX SPORTS and on radio at