Haylett-Petty wins Nathan Sharpe Medal

Super Rugby
Beth Newman Profile
by Beth Newman

Force fullback Dane Haylett-Petty has scored a runaway Nathan Sharpe Medal win after a super season.

Haylett-Petty became the newest Nathan Sharpe Medallist with 449, the highest tally in club history beating the previous best of 378, scored by Ben McCalman in 2015.

The outside back scored almost triple the votes of the next best player, captain Matt Hodgson (168), with Ben McCalman (150), Jono Lance (140) and Luke Morahan (131) rounding out the top five.

It’s fitting reward for the fullback who managed a standout season despite a poor return for the Force this season, with Haylett-Petty second only to Damian McKenzie in metres gained across the competition.

Haylett-Petty added the members’ MVP to his award tally at the club night, after his excellent season.

His win puts him among a list of club legends, with Hodgson a three-time winner and Matt Giteau and Ben McCalman also past winners.

Brother, Ross, won the Force’s rising star award after his debut Super Rugby season in the west.

Winger Marcel Brache rounded out the winners, with the Geoffrey Stooke Force Man Award.

The Force won just two matches this season, with coach Michael Foley departing during the June Test series.

Interviews for their next coach will commence in the coming weeks, with a shortlist currently being decided on.

Nathan Sharpe Medal winners

Nathan Sharpe Medal: Dane Haylett-Petty

Members’ MVP: Dane Haylett-Petty

Rising Star: Ross Haylett-Petty

Geoffrey Stooke Force Man Award: Marcel Brache

2016 Nathan Sharpe Medal – Top Five

Dane Haylett-Petty – 449 votes

Matt Hodgson – 168 votes

Ben McCalman – 150 votes

Jono Lance – 140 votes

Luke Morahan – 131 votes