Super Rugby teams: Round Three

The Western Force welcome back Wallaby back rower Ben McCalman to the starting XV to face the Brumbies on Friday night. 

Head Coach Michael Foley has made five changes in total as he looks to add depth to his squad. 

Young prop Jermaine Ainsley and lock Ross Haylett-Petty will start his first Super Rugby match, replacing Guy Millar and Steve Mafi respectively, while experienced hooker Heath Tessmann receives the nod ahead of capped Wallaby Nathan Charles. 

The only change to the backs sees scrumhalf Ian Prior earn his first start of 2016, shifting Alby Mathewson to the bench. 

Western Force vs ACT Brumbies, Friday 11 March, 10:05pm AEDT, nib Stadium, Perth

1. Pekahou Cowan

2. Heath Tessmann

3. Jermaine Ainsley

4. Ross Haylett-Petty

5. Adam Coleman

6. Brynard Stander

7. Matt Hodgson

8. Ben McCalman

9. Ian Prior

10. Jono Lance

11. Semisi Masirewa

12. Solomoni (Junior) Rasolea

13. Ben Tapuai

14. Luke Morahan

15. Dane Haylett-Petty


16. Nathan Charles

17. Chris Heiberg

18. Guy Millar

19. Sitiveni (Stevie) Mafi

20. Angus Cottrell

21. Alby Mathewson

22. Peter Grant

23. Marcel Brache


The Brumbies have made three forced changes to their side as they prepare to take on the Force.

Blake Enever (shoulder) and Ita Vaea (finger) have both been ruled out of the weekend's game, replaced by Rory Arnold and Jarrad Butler, respectively.

Teen flanker Tom Staniforth comes onto the bench, in line for his first Super Rugby match since 2014.

1.            Scott Sio

2.            Stephen Moore (c)

3.            Ben Alexander

4.            Rory Arnold

5.            Sam Carter

6.            Scott Fardy

7.            David Pocock

8.            Jarrad Butler

9.            Tomás Cubelli

10.          Christian Lealiifano (c)

11.          Joe Tomane

12.          Matt Toomua

13.          Tevita Kuridrani

14.          Henry Speight

15.          Aidan Toua


16.          Josh Mann-Rea

17.          Allan Alaalatoa

18.          Leslie Leulua’iali’i-Makin

19.          Tom Staniforth

20.          Jordan Smiler

21.          Michael Dowsett

22.          Andrew Smith

23.          Nigel Ah Wong

Melbourne Rebels vs Queensland Reds, Saturday March 12 7:40pm AEDT, AAMI Park, Melbourne

Rebels flanker Jordy Reid has been elevated to the starting XV for the side's Australian derby against the Queensland Reds.

Reid's run-on start is the only change to the starting lineup but is the result of a back row reshuffle, with Adam Thomson moving to number eight, Lopeti Timani returning to lock and Steve Cummins shifting to the bench.

There'll be plenty of heat in the match, with four former Reds in the Rebels line up for the match.

1. Toby Smith

 2. James Hanson

 3. Laurie Weeks

 4. Luke Jones

 5. Lopeti Timani

 6. Jordy Reid

 7. Sean McMahon (captain)

 8. Adam Thomson

 9. Ben Meehan

 10. Jack Debreczeni

 11. Tom English

 12. Mitch Inman

 13. Tamati Ellison

 14. Dom Shipperley

 15. Jonah Placid


16. Pat Leafa

 17. Cruze Ah Nau

 18. Jamie Hagan

 19. Sam Jeffries

 20. Steve Cummins

 21. Mick Snowden

 22. Dan Hawkins

 23. Kotaro Matsushima


Newly installed interim coaches Nick Stiles and Matt O'Connor have made five changes across Queensland's starting XV, ahead of round three.

Sef Fa'agase and Andre Ready will both make their starting debuts inthe front row, replacing Ben Daley and Saia Fainga'a (foot) in the run-on team, while Waita Setu's promising cameo against the Force has earned him a starting call up, in place of Curtis Browning.

In the back line, veteran centre Anthony Fainga'a will return to the team for his first Super Rugby match in 10 months, while Karmichael Hunt moves to fullback.

Japanese Test star Ayumu Goromaru will start off the bench.

1. Sef Fa’agase (run-on debut)

2. Andrew Ready

3. Greg Holmes

4. Cadeyrn Neville

5. Rob Simmons (C)

6. Hendrik Tui

7. Waita Setu

8. Jake Schatz

9. Nick Frisby

10. Jake McIntyre

11. Eto Nabuli

12. Anthony Fainga’a

13. Samu Kerevi

14. Chris Feauai-Sautia

15. Karmichael Hunt


16. Matt Mafi

17. Ben Daley

18. Sam Talakai

19. Ben Matwijow

20. Curtis Browning

21. Scott Gale

22. Sam Greene

23. Ayumu Goromaru

HBF Park hosts the Round 10 clash between the Western Force and Queensland Reds
LIVE: Reds take advantage of ill-disciplined Force in must-win clash
Mitch Short in action for Randwick. Photo: Karen Watson
Battle of the East set to reignite at Coogee Oval
Dane Haylett-Petty answers questions ahead of the Rebels clash with the Waratahs. Photo: Getty Images
Haylett-Petty hopeful of rugby comeback
The Weary Dunlop Shield which the Melbourne Rebels and NSW Waratahs play for
ANZAC Legends: Weary Dunlop Logo

The are a proud part of Rugby AU

© 2021 Australian Rugby. All rights reserved.