National Women's XVs Championship to kick-off in Sydney

by staff

The 2015 National Women’s XVs Championship will commence a week from today (Wednesday 24 June) in Sydney with the best female Rugby players from around the country coming together to compete for the title.

The three day tournament will strengthen the depth of Women’s XVs Rugby in Australia leading into the 2017 Women’s Rugby World Cup, with the ARU committing to host the tournament annually.

Following the National Championships a 40-woman Wallaroos extended squad will be selected and will assemble at Bond University, Gold Coast for a training camp in August.

The tournament kicks off on Wednesday June 24 and runs through to Friday June 26 at St Ignatius College, Riverview, Sydney and will see eight teams fight it out to become National Champions.

The teams include: Sydney, Western Australia, Victoria, South Australia, Queensland, Australian Capital Territory, NSW Country and Australian Services (ASRU).

Australian Rugby Union General Manager, Pathways and Performance, Ben Whitaker said: “We are committed to strengthening the depth of our Women’s XVs Rugby in Australia and the National Women’s XVs Championship will expose players to a high standard of Rugby with teams from across the country.

“With the Wallaroos having qualified for the 2017 Women’s Rugby World Cup, Australian Rugby is taking steps to ensure that we have a strong squad with depth across all positions.

“The tournament will shed light on the talent Australian Women’s Rugby has to offer. The earlier we identify and develop this talent, the better we will perform in 2017.”

2015 National Women’s XV Championship:

Pool A- Sydney, Western Australia, Victoria and South Australia

Pool B-Queensland, ACT, NSW Country, Australian Services (ASRU)

Match Day One, Wednesday 24 June

8.30am, Sydney v South Australia

9.30am, Western Australia v Victoria

10.30am, Queensland v ASRU

11.30am, ACT v NSW Country

1:00pm, Sydney v Victoria

2:00pm, Western Australia v South Australia

3:00pm, Queensland v NSW Country

4:00pm, ACT v ASRU

Match Day Two, Thursday 25 June

9.30am, Victoria v South Australia

11:00am, NSW Country v ASRU

12.30am, Sydney v Western Australia

2:00pm, Queensland v ACT

Match day Three, Friday 26 June

8.30am, 4th Pool A v 4th Pool B

9.45am, 3rd Pool A v 3rd Pool B

11.00am, 2nd Pool A v 2nd Pool B

12.15, 1st Pool A v 1st Pool B (Final)