Log in

Hooper, Kerevi nominated for World Rugby Player of the Year

Mon, 15/11/2021, 11:00 am
Nathan Williamson
by Nathan Williamson
A strong half from England secures the win for the hosts at Twickenham

Wallabies skipper Michael Hooper and centre Samu Kerevi have been recognised for an incredible 2021 campaign, nominated for World Rugby's Men's Player of the Year.

The pair are nominated alongside France scrumhalf Antoine Dupont and English and British and Irish Lions lock Maro Itoje.

Click here to vote for Michael Hooper and Samu Kerevi for World Rugby Player of the Year

Hooper has been essential to the Wallabies' incredible 2021 season, playing in every match under Dave Rennie.

In September, he would go past George Gregan as the most-capped captain in Wallabies history, bringing up his 65th game against England last week.

Meanwhile, Kerevi was a major influence behind their five-game winning streak, playing an integral role in their victories over South Africa and Argentina.

Initially, joining as cover for Hunter Paisami for the third Bledisloe, the 28-year-old reaffirmed his status as one of the best centres in the world during his brutal stint with Australia.

The pair will be looking to become the first Australian man or woman to win the award at the 15s level, with Emilee Cherry (2014) and Charlotte Caslick (2016) winning it at the 7s level.

Winger Andrew Kellaway has also been nominated for Breakout Player of the Year whilst Dave Rennie is up for Coach of the Year.

“This is a huge achievement, and great recognition for Michael, Samu, Andrew and Dave after what has been an encouraging Wallabies season," RA CEO Andy Marinos said “It’s great personal reward for each of them as we continue to build into 2022 and the Rugby World Cup in France which is now just around the corner. “I encourage every fan to make sure they get online and vote for Michael and Samu to ensure an Australian takes home the World Rugby Player of the Year crown

Fans will be able to select their winner on the Awards’ voting website, where they can also vote for the Women’s Players of the Year in Sevens and 15s, as well as the Men’s and Women’s Try of the Year.

Meanwhile, the Breakout Player and Coach of the Year will be awarded by a World Rugby Voting Panel, including Wallabies legend George Gregan

World Rugby Chairman Sir Bill Beaumont said: “The World Rugby Awards are the ultimate accolade for rugby, and we are delighted to honour the outstanding players and individuals who have made an impact on our game on and off the field in 2021.

“The pandemic and its consequences have restricted several unions from playing international games this year and we recognise that not all rugby stars have had a chance to shine.

"Nevertheless, the World Rugby Awards Panel has done an amazing job in selecting suitable candidates in each category and I would like to congratulate all nominees who, deservingly, have been shortlisted for this year’s awards.”

WORLD RUGBY AWARDS 2021 NOMINEES World Rugby Men’s 15s Player of the Year in association with Mastercard (fan vote)

Antoine Dupont (France)

Michael Hooper (Australia)

Maro Itoje (England/British and Irish Lions)

Samu Kerevi (Australia)

World Rugby Women’s 15s Player of the Year in association with Mastercard (fan vote)

Zoe Aldcroft (England)

Caroline Boujard (France)

Laure Sansus (France)

Poppy Cleall (England)

World Rugby Breakthrough Player of the Year in association with Tudor (panel vote)

Will Jordan (New Zealand)

Andrew Kellaway (Australia)

Louis Rees-Zammit (Wales)

Marcus Smith (England)

World Rugby Coach of the Year (panel vote)

Allan Bunting/Cory Sweeney (New Zealand Women’s Sevens)

Ian Foster (New Zealand Men)

Simon Middleton (England Women)

Dave Rennie (Australia Men)

World Rugby Men’s Sevens Player of the Year in association with HSBC (fan vote)

Napolioni Bolaca (Fiji)

Scott Curry (New Zealand)

Marcos Moneta (Argentina)

Jiuta Wainiqolo(Fiji)

World Rugby Women’s Sevens Player of the Year in association with HSBC (fan vote)

Anne-Cécile Ciofani (France)

Sarah Hirini (New Zealand)

Alowesi Nakoci (Fiji)

Reapi Ulunisau (Fiji)

Rugby.com.au Logo

The Rugby.com.au are a proud part of Rugby AU

© 2021 Australian Rugby. All rights reserved.