Log in

Western Force confirm 2022 awards winners

Fri, 24/06/2022, 11:45 pm
Nathan Williamson
by Nathan Williamson
The Force were looking to keep their finals hopes alive against the visiting Hurricanes.

Western Force duo Tim Anstee and Manasa Mataele have made history, becoming the first players to be jointly awarded the Nathan Sharpe Medal at the club's awards night.

This comes as rising star Tamika Jones became the first recipient of the Rebecca Clough Medal for Super W best and fairest.

Don't miss out! Purchase your tickets for the Wallabies' three-Test series against England

Anstee and Mataele both finished the season with 105 points, just three points ahead of runner-up Bayley Kuenzle (102) after dominant seasons.

Meanwhile, Jones (97) was a clear winner, 33 points ahead of runner-up Anneka Stephens as she also collected the Members MVP.

“Tamika was a standout throughout the season. For someone so young to possess such confidence and tenacity is incredible. We loved watching her play and so did our members and fans,” GM of Rugby Matt Hodgson said in a statement.

“Both Manasa and Tim are greatly deserving of this accolade. Their hard work during key moments throughout the season was pivotal to our overall season, and it is great to see them both recognised.”

Homegrown talent Jackson Pugh and Keira MacAskill were awarded the Matt Hodgson and Debby Hodgkinson Rising Star Awards respectively after breakout performances in ther debut seasons.

“Both Jackson and Keira are young Western Australian players who have worked their way through the state pathway and are now shining at the highest level,” Hodgson added.

“They are some of the most consistent trainers at the club and are promising talents that have only just started their careers. We cannot wait to see them continue to grow and learn.”

Jones was joined in winning the Members' MVP by the outgoing Richard Kahui, with Force CEO Tony Lewis praising their impact on the group.

“Both Tamika and Richard are very exciting players to watch and fantastic individuals, which is evident every time they pull on a Force jersey. They are great representatives of the club, and this award is a testament to their character,” Lewis said.

Rounding out the awards were the Nicola Forrest Force Woman Award and the Geoff Stooke Force Man Award, presented to Force stalwarts Anneka Stephens and Tom Robertson.

“Anneka and Tom are always the first to put their hands up regardless of what is asked of them," Hodgson believes.

"Their enthusiasm, hard work and genuine willingness to help everyone around them truly embodies the values of the Force. I am very proud for them both to be receiving this award.”

2022 Award Winners Nathan Sharpe Medal: Tim Anstee and Manasa Mataele

Rebecca Clough Medal: Tamika Jones

Matt Hodgson Rising Star: Jackson Pugh

Debby Hodgkinson Rising Star: Keira MacAskill

Super Rugby Pacific Members’ MVP: Richard Kahui

Super W Members’ MVP: Tamika Jones

Geoffrey Stooke Force Man Award: Tom Robertson

Nicola Forrest Force Woman Award: Anneka Stephens

Rugby.com.au Logo

The Rugby.com.au are a proud part of Rugby AU

© 2021 Australian Rugby. All rights reserved.