Waratahs, Reds confirm sides for second U18s Academy match

Thu, Feb 29, 2024, 11:40 PM
Nathan Williamson
by Nathan Williamson
1:30 PM AEST - Reds Academy v Waratahs Academy

The NSW Waratahs and Queensland Reds have confirmed their sides ahead of Saturday's second U18 Academy match at Concord.

The hosts will be out to complete the double after a 33-26 win over their Queensland counterpart last week at Ballymore.

Catch the NSW v Queensland U18 Academy game LIVE on Rugby Xplorer

The Reds took a 21-14 lead into the break in their opening clash before Luca Cleverely levelled the scores.

Hayden Lavercombe and Justice Taumoepeau scored late to seal the win despite a late try to Reds winger Tom Howard.

The Waratahs have made several changes, most notably the inclusion of Joe Walsh at flyhalf.

Walsh started for the Australian Schools and U18s side in their opening game against New Zealand Secondary Schools in September.

He partners Sam Blank in the halves whilst Henry Conick and Riley Evans start in the centres.

Taumoepeau has been elevated into the starting side, with backrower Marshall Le Maitre once again captaining the side.

As for the Reds, Eli Langi and Jye Crowthers come into the starting back-row alongside Teina Graham.

Lehopoama Leota takes over the captaincy, starting in the front row which includes Kingsley Uys and Ewald Kruger.

Stan Keats will partner Finn MacKay in the halves, with Chace Oates and Chris Jensen the new-look centre partnership.

The game will be shown on Rugby XPlorer and serve as the curtain raiser before the NSW Waratahs face Tokyo Phoenix in a Super Rugby W pre-season trial.

U18s Waratahs v Reds Teams

WARATAHS (1-15): Nicholas Hill, Poni Ravubale, Edwin Langi, Isaac Fonua, Toby Brial, Luca Cleverley, Marshall Le Maitre (c), Justice Taumoepeau, Sam Blank, Joe Walsh, Tom Hartman, Henry Conick, Riley Evans, Jay McKenzie, Charlie Poynton 

Reserves: Riley Osborn, Harper Strachan, Lewis Wilson, Edward Baxter, Zion Poitaha, Angus Grover, Harrison Dene, Tom Watts, Hayden Lavercombe, Tom Farr-Jones

REDS (1-15): Kingsley Uys, Ewald Kruger, Lehopoama Leota (c), William Ross, Bennett Armistead, Eli Langi, Jye Crothers, Teina Graham, Stan Keats, Finn Mackay, Tom Howard, Chace Oates, Chris Jensen, Nick Conway, Treyvon Pritchard

Reserves: John Grenfell, Daniel Christodoulou, Emil Willie-Jawai, Will Pascoe, Josh Takai, Sam Watson, Callum Simpson, Ryan Heaton, Berakah Tuifaasisina, Wallace Charlie

Clean sheet Queensland: Reds run riot in Highlanders thrashing
Desiree Miller scoring one of her three tries
MATCH REPORT: Waratahs Women are through to the Grand Final
Force heartbreak as Drua triumph to end Super W finals campaign
Crunch Kiwi encounters loom for red-hot ACT Brumbies