Wallaroos announce Players of National Interest (PONI) squad following Super W

Tue, 06/07/2021, 12:00 am
Nathan Williamson
by Nathan Williamson
The Waratahs took on the Reds in the Super W Grand Final at Coffs Harbour International Stadium.

The Wallaroos have announced a 40-player Players of National Interest (PONI) squad following the Super W season.

The squad contains eight new players, headlined by Waratahs lock Kaitlan Leaney and Queensland prodigy Destiny Brill.

Get your tickets now for the Wallabies three-Test series with France!

Other notable additions include Waratahs winger Margot Vella, Reds winger Ivania Wong, Brumbies centre Siokapesi Palu and Rebels flyhalf Jade Te Aute.

It completes a rapid rise for Te Aute, who earns a call-up to the Wallaroos at just 17 years old.

Five teams are represented in the squad, with winger and vice-captain Jemima McCalman included from the President's XV.

NSW Waratah Kaitlan Leaney sheds light on her journey to playing in her hometown in the Buildcorp Super W competition. Filmed by Stu Walmsley

General Manager, Women’s Rugby Jilly Collins said “Many congratulations to all those selected. The Wallaroos Selection Panel had many tough decisions to make, with so many players performing well in Super W 2021.”

“Rugby Australia looks forward to announcing new Test match dates for the Wallaroos shortly.

"We are working hard with all our partners to confirm the revised schedule, following the postponement of the PacificAus Sports Wallaroos Samoa Test series, due to current COVID-19 restrictions."

Players will train with squad mates in their selected PONI groups over the next two months back in their states.

RA also confirmed the process has begin for the new coaching staff following the resignation of the Wallaroos Head Coach and Assistant Coach.


*Denotes new addition into squad

Iliseva Batibasaga - NSW Waratahs

Destiny Brill - Queensland Reds*

Emily Chancellor - NSW Waratahs

Bree-Anna Cheatham - Queensland Reds

Georgia Cormick - Melbourne Rebels

Lori Cramer - NSW Waratahs

Piper Duck - NSW Waratahs

Anita Faimasui-Brown - NSW Waratahs

Georgina Friedrichs - NSW Waratahs

Aleena Greenhalgh - Queensland Reds

Grace Hamilton - NSW Waratahs

Fiona Jones - NSW Waratahs

Eva Karpani - NSW Waratahs

Grace Kemp - Brumbies

Atasi Lafai - NSW Waratahs

Kaitlan Leaney - NSW Waratahs*

Michaela Leonard – Brumbies

Lucy Lockhart - Queensland Reds

Ashley Marsters - Melbourne Rebels

Lillyann Mason-Spice – Brumbies

Jemima McCalman – President’s XV

Arabella McKenzie - NSW Waratahs

Tiarah Minns - Melbourne Rebels

Tiarna Molloy - Queensland Reds*

Layne Morgan - NSW Waratahs

Mahalia Murphy - NSW Waratahs

Sera Naiqama - NSW Waratahs

Bridie O'Gorman - NSW Waratahs

Siokapesi Palu – Brumbies*

Liz Patu - Queensland Reds

Pauline Piliae - NSW Waratahs

Christina Sekona - Queensland Reds

Cecilia Smith - Queensland Reds

Tayla Stanford - Brumbies

Maya Stewart - NSW Waratahs

Adiana Talakai - NSW Waratahs

Jade Te Aute - Melbourne Rebels*

Margot Vella - NSW Waratahs*

Melanie Wilks - Queensland Reds*

Ivania Wong - Queensland Reds*

Australia women win Dubai Sevens again
The Australia Men's and Women's Sevens teams have both taken home medals in Dubai | Image: World Rugby
Aussie Women claim repeat gold as men fall to South Africa in Cup Final
Wallaby Douglas urges Bordeaux-Begles to 'rock up in defence' against Toulouse
Both Sevens sides have ended day one undefeated. Photo: Mike Lee/World Rugby
Australia Sevens teams flying in Dubai
Rugby.com.au Logo

The Rugby.com.au are a proud part of Rugby AU

© 2021 Australian Rugby. All rights reserved.