Cale to make starting debut as Slipper captains Wallabies for second Wales Test

Thu, Jul 11, 2024, 1:58 AM
Nathan Williamson
by Nathan Williamson
Wallabies v Wales Highlights | First Test | 2024

Wallabies prop James Slipper will take over the captaincy as Joe Schmidt confirms his side for Saturday's second Test against Wales in Melbourne.

Slipper captains the side as a result of an injury to backrower Liam Wright ruled him out.

Tickets to the Wallabies 2024 Home Tests are available to purchase here.

It's the 15th time the 35-year-old has captained Australia, recently breaking the record for most caps for a front-rower.

Wright's absence sees Slipper's Brumbies team-mate Charlie Cale make his debut start at number eight.

Cale was one of seven debutants during last week's victory and his inclusion pushes Rob Valetini to blindside flanker, the same set-up as at the Brumbies.

It's the lone change to the starting side, with Schmidt making several changes to the bench, headlined by potential debutant Josh Nasser.

Nasser, the son of former Wallaby Brendan, joins Isaac Kailea and Allan Alaalatoa as the front-row replacements.

NSW Waratah Langi Gleeson has also been added to the bench, named for his first appearance for the Wallabies in 2024 alongside Angus Blyth.

Western Force duo Nic White and Ben Donaldson round out the changes, providing an experienced combo off the bench with Dylan Pietsch.

“We found out a bit about ourselves last week and are looking forward to learning a bit more on Saturday night," Schmidt said.

“We’ve worked hard again this week in Melbourne and will be going out to earn the support of those in the stands and those at home on Saturday night.”

The Wallabies will wear their First Nations jersey in recognition of NAIDOC week

Wallabies team to play Wales at AAMI Park in Melbourne on Saturday 13 July, 7:45pm AEST

1. James Slipper (c) (135 Tests) – Bond Pirates

2. Matt Faessler (6 Tests) – USQ Saints

3. Taniela Tupou (51 Tests) – Brothers Rugby

4. Jeremy Williams (1 Test) - Wahroonga Tigers

5. Lukhan Salakaia-Loto (31 Tests) – Randwick

6. Rob Valetini (40 Tests) – Harlequin Junior Rugby Club

7. Fraser McReight (18 Tests) – Albany Creek Brumbies

8. Charlie Cale (1 Test) - Beecroft Junior Rugby Club

9. Jake Gordon (21 Tests) – Canterbury Berries

10. Noah Lolesio (18 Tests) – Tuggeranong Vikings

11. Filipo Daugunu (8 Tests) – Wests Bulldogs

12. Hunter Paisami (25 Tests) - Harlequin Junior Rugby Club

13. Josh Flook (1 Test) - Brothers Rugby

14. Andrew Kellaway (27 Tests) – Hunters Hill Rugby

15. Tom Wright (26 Tests) – Clovelly Eagles


16. Josh Nasser** - Easts Tigers

17. Isaac Kailea (1 Test) - Harlequin Junior Rugby Club

18. Allan Alaalatoa (68 Tests) – West Harbour Juniors

19. Angus Blyth (1 Test) - Casuarina Beach Rugby Club

20. Langi Gleeson (5 Tests) – Harbord Harlequins

21. Nic White (66 Tests) – Maitland Blacks

22. Ben Donaldson (7 Tests) – Clovelly Eagles

23. Dylan Pietsch (1 Test) - Leeton Phantoms

**denotes potential debut

Georgia: The Next Big Thing in Rugby Union
Paris Olympic Games 2024: Rugby Sevens Fixtures
Wilson hungry to take latest Wallabies opportunity
Nick Malouf is hungry to avoid past failures and come back with a medal. Photo: Getty Images
Malouf, Australia Sevens enter Olympic village with redemption on their mind