Wallabies return for First Nations Round against Chiefs

Thu, May 25, 2023, 2:00 AM
by Brumbies.rugby
Photo: Getty
Photo: Getty

The Safeguard Global ACT Brumbies have named a strong side for Saturday's First Nations Round clash against the Chiefs at GIO Stadium in Canberra.


James Slipper, Lachlan Lonergan, Allan Alaalatoa, Nick Frost, Rob Valetini, Len Ikitau and Tom Wright return to the Brumbies matchday squad, with Nic White and Cadeyrn Neville missing out through injury, though both are expected to be fit for the Brumbies final regular season game against the Rebels.


Slipper, Lonergan and Alaalatoa form the front row, with Alaalatoa leading the team for the 47th time, drawing level with George Gregan as the club's third-most-capped captain.


Frost will combine with Tom Hooper in the second row, with Valetini, Jahrome Brown and Pete Samu starting in the backrow.


Ryan Lonergan will partner Noah Lolesio in the halves, with Tamati Tua bringing punch in the midfield inside Ikitau at 13.


Wright's return sees Muirhead shift back to the right wing with Corey Toole on the left.


Connal McInerney, Blake Schoupp and Sefo Kautai will come on in the front row, with Darcy Swain covering lock and Luke Reimer bringing bags of energy to the backrow.


Klayton Thorn continues as the finishing halfback having made his Super Rugby Pacific debut against the Force last week, with Jack Debreczeni adding experience as the flyhalf cover.


Ollie Sapsford completes the Brumbies squad.


Safeguard Global ACT Brumbies head coach, Stephen Larkham said: "Regardless of the changes, last week was disappointing for the group and we've worked hard this week to make sure we're prepared to perform Saturday night.


"It's obviously pleasing to bring the boys that were rested back in and it's another great opportunity for Klayton to contribute to the team after his debut last week.


"We have a lot of respect for the Chiefs, there's a lot of history there. These are the games as a professional that you prepare all year for and we're excited for the challenge."




1. James Slipper, Queanbeyan Whites


2. Lachlan Lonergan, Tuggeranong Vikings


3. Allan Alaalatoa (C), Uni-Norths Owls


4. Nick Frost, Queanbeyan Whites


5. Tom Hooper, Tuggeranong Vikings


6. Rob Valetini, Western District Lions


7. Jahrome Brown, Gungahlin Eagles


8. Pete Samu, Gungahlin Eagles


9. Ryan Lonergan (C), Tuggeranong Vikings


10. Noah Lolesio, Tuggeranong Vikings


11. Corey Toole, Gungahlin Eagles


12. Tamati Tua, Queanbeyan Whites


13. Len Ikitau, Tuggeranong Vikings


14. Andy Muirhead, Canberra Royals


15. Tom Wright, Western District Lions






16. Connal McInerney, Canberra Royals


17. Blake Schoupp, Gungahlin Eagles


18. Sefo Kautai, Canberra Royals


19. Darcy Swain, Tuggeranong Vikings


20. Luke Reimer, Western Districts Lions


21. Klayton Thorn, Gungahlin Eagles


22. Jack Debreczeni, Uni-Norths Owls


23. Ollie Sapsford, Uni-Norths Owls

Marsters returns as Wallaroos name side for Black Ferns Test
Dove Men+Care gets on board with the Wallabies
Wallabies v Wales Game Two: How to watch in Australia, teams, fixtures and more
South Australia in action against Tasmania at the 2024 Southern States tournament in Adelaide. Picture: Rugby Australia
LIVE: 2024 Southern States Junior Championships - Day 4