Log in

Two changes to Women's Sevens side as they look to finish on a high

Thu, 19/05/2022, 10:55 pm
Nathan Williamson
by Nathan Williamson
The Australian Women's Sevens have stolen a thrilling final in Langford to take the World Series crown.

Australian Sevens coach Tim Walsh has made two changes to the title-winning side from Langford in the final leg of the 2021-22 World Series in Toulouse.

After securing the title a fortnight ago, Walsh has recalled young guns Tia Hinds and Teagan Levi as they look to continue their build towards the Commonwealth Games and Rugby Sevens World Cup.

Catch all the action of the World Series LIVE on Kayo and BEIN Sports

Hinds will be entering her fifth tournament heading into Toulouse whilst Teagan joins sister Maddison after making her debut in Dubai at the start of the Series.

“The month on tour has been memorable for the squad. We have trained and prepared exceptionally well, shared some memorable experiences, and embedded a united approach for a sustainable future," Walsh said in a statement.

“This weekend is like every other tournament. We are prepared to perform and want to continue to improve aspects of our game both strategically, mentally, and physically,”

Australia has been drawn in a blockbuster Pool A, opening their tournament on May 20 against South Africa (6:36 pm).

They will then face Fiji (May 21 - 2:06 am), who they defeated in back-to-back finals in Dubai.

Their group action will conclude with a major match-up against Malaga champions USA, who they narrowly defeated 21-19 in Seville.

“After coming from Canada we are really excited to finish off the Series here in France, it is such a beautiful city and we can’t wait to play in front of the fans," captain Demi Hayes said via World Rugby.

"We came into the Series and set out to win the title we’re really happy and can’t wait to finish it off here in the hot sun.”

All games across the tournament will be LIVE on BeIN and Kayo Sports.

Australian Women’s Sevens Side for Toulouse

1. Lily Dick, (10 caps)

2. Sharni Williams, (39 caps)

3. Faith Nathan, (9 caps)

4. Dominique Du Toit, (20 caps)

5. Jesse Southwell, (1 cap)

6. Tia Hinds, (4 caps)

7. Charlotte Caslick (co-c), (38 caps)

8. Madison Ashby, (10 caps)

9. Bienne Terita, (2 caps)

10. Sariah Paki, (15 caps)

11. Demi Hayes (co-c), (17 caps)

12. Maddison Levi, (5 caps)

13. Teagan Levi, (2 caps)

Australian 7s Women’s Pool A Fixtures – Toulouse

Friday 20 May

Australia vs South Africa – 6:36pm AEST

Saturday 21 May

Australia vs Fiji – 2:06am

Australia vs USA – 6:36am

Rugby.com.au Logo

The Rugby.com.au are a proud part of Rugby AU

© 2021 Australian Rugby. All rights reserved.