Australia announces Olympic Sevens squads

Fri, 02/07/2021, 09:30 pm
Nathan Williamson
by Nathan Williamson
Australia faced off against New Zealand at day three of the Oceania Sevens at Queensland Country Bank Stadium.

Australia has confirmed their men's and women's squads for the 2020 Olympics in Tokyo.

The announcement was made on Saturday by the Australian Olympic Committee, who confirmed 24 athletes to the Australian Olympic team for Tokyo for Rugby Sevens.

Watch every minute of the Super W Final on Stan Sport. Start your Free Sport Trial Now

As they look to defend their gold medals from 2016, the women's team will welcome 205 World Series caps worth of experience, led by Sharni Williams and Shannon Parry.

Parry, Williams, Emma Tonegato, Evania Pelite and Charlotte Caslick will return for their second Games, whilst Demi Hayes, Dominique Du Toit, Sariah Paki, Faith Nathan and Maddison Ashby make their Olympic debut.

As for the men, they will take a fresh-looking squad into the Olympics, with just captain Nick Malouf and Henry Hutchison returning for their second games.

Former Wallaby Samu Kerevi will make his Sevens debut for Australia, joined by Olympic debutants Lachlan Anderson, Joe Pincus, Dylan Pietsch, Henry Paterson, Maurice Longbottom, Joshua Coward, Joshua Turner, Lachlan Miller, and Dietrich Roache.

Australia faced off against Oceania at day three of the Oceania Sevens at Queensland Country Bank Stadium.

“It is fantastic to announce these 24 athletes to the Australian Olympic Team for Tokyo,” Chef de Mission Ian Chesterman said.

“Rugby Sevens debut in 2016 and that historic women’s gold is one of the standout memories from Rio and we are thrilled to have such strong squads named for Tokyo.”

“COVID and the postponement has made this a tough campaign, and today’s selection is testament to the extraordinary determination of these athletes to be at their best and to represent their country despite those difficulties.

“Thank you to Rugby Australia for developing a great sevens program and helping take athletes from their first game of rugby to competing on the world’s biggest sporting stage and to the players’ families, friends, teammates and supporters who have been their every step of the way.”


KNOW THE ENEMY: NZ help Wallabies prepare for France

DARREN COLEMAN: Making the Waratahs 'earn their beer'

HEARTBREAKING: Dalton out of Olympics

“On behalf of the entire Rugby community, I’d like to congratulate every athlete on their selection," RA CEO Andy Marinos added.

“It is one of the world’s premier sporting events and I have no doubt every individual will represent their clubs, friends, families and country to the best of their ability. 

“I speak on behalf of everyone in the Rugby family in wishing you good luck, we’ll be right behind you the whole way and can’t wait to welcome you home.”

Australian Women’s Sevens Team for Tokyo 2020

1.Shannon Parry

2.Sharni Williams

3.Faith Nathan

4.Dominique Du Toit

5.Emma Tonegato

6.Evania Pelite

7.Charlotte Caslick

8.Madison Ashby

9.Tia Hinds*

10.Sariah Paki

11.Demi Hayes

12.Maddison Levi*

Australian Men’s Sevens Team for Tokyo 2020

1.Lachlan Anderson

2.Joe Pincus

3.Dylan Pietsch

4.Nicholas Malouf

5.Henry Paterson*

6.Maurice Longbottom

7.Joshua Coward

8.Joshua Turner

9.Lachlan Miller

10.Samu Kervei*

11.Dietrich Roache*

12.Henry Hutchison

* Denotes uncapped player

LIVE: Aussie 7s confirm back-to-back Cup Finals
Wallaby Douglas urges Bordeaux-Begles to 'rock up in defence' against Toulouse
Both Sevens sides have ended day one undefeated. Photo: Mike Lee/World Rugby
Australia Sevens teams flying in Dubai
Mature Mogg looking to show off development on Brumbies return Logo

The are a proud part of Rugby AU

© 2021 Australian Rugby. All rights reserved.