Super Rugby Trans Tasman - Fixtures, How to Watch and more

Sun, 06/06/2021, 11:45 pm
Nathan Williamson
by Nathan Williamson
The Queensland Reds enter Super Rugby Trans-Tasman as the Australian team to beat. Photo: Getty Images

The Super Rugby Trans-Tasman competition is set to kick off this Friday as the Australian and New Zealand teams battle for supremacy.

The Reds and Crusaders enter as the teams to beat following their successes in Super Rugby AU and Aotearoa.

Watch every minute of Super Rugby Trans-Tasman on Stan Sport. Start your Free Sport Trial Now

Here's everything you need to know about Super Rugby Trans-Tasman!


Every game of the Super Rugby Trans-Tasman competition will be live and ad-free on Stan Sport.

Along with this, one game per week on Saturday night will be shown live on 9Gem.

Please see our list of international broadcasters (subject to change):

  • New Zealand: Sky Sports
  • South Africa/Africa and adjacent islands: SuperSport
  • Argentina/South America/North America: ESPN
  • USA: Flo Sports
  • Japan: Wowow    
  • Pacific: Digicel
  • Middle East: RugbyPass
  • Italy/Vatican/San Marino/Switzerland: Sky Italia   
  • France: Canal+
  • Andorra/Monaco/Luxembourg: RugbyPass
  • UK & Ireland (England, Scotland, Wales, Northern Ireland, Channel Islands, Isle of Man): RugbyPass
  • Spain/Andorra: Telefonica
  • Portugal: RugbyPass
  • Non-core Europe: RugbyPass
  • Premier Sports: Bangladesh, Bhutan, Brunei, Burma (Myanmar), Cambodia, Federated States of Micronesia, Hong Kong, Indonesia, Kiribati, Kyrgyzstan, Laos, Macau, Malaysia, Maldives, Marianas, Marshall Islands, Mongolia, Nepal,  Northern Marianas, North Korea, Pakistan, Palau, Philippines, Singapore,  South Korea, Tajikistan, Taiwan (Republic of China), Thailand, Timor-Leste, Vietnam
The crazy last few seconds of an epic decider.


*All times AEST

Round One

Highlanders 40. def Queensland Reds 19, Friday 14 May, Forsyth Barr Stadium, Dunedin, 5:05pm

NSW Waratahs 46. def by. Hurricanes 64, Friday 14 May, SCG, Sydney, 7:45pm

Crusaders 31. def. Brumbies 29, Saturday 15 May, Orangetheory Stadium, Christchurch, 5:05pm

Melbourne Rebels 3 def. by Blues 30, Saturday 15 May, AAMI Park, Melbourne, 7:45pm

Western Force 19 def. by Chiefs 20, Saturday 15 May, HBF Park, Perth, 9:55pm

Round Two

Hurricanes 35 def Melbourne Rebels 13, Friday 21 May, Sky Stadium, Wellington, 5:05pm

Western Force 15 def by. Highlanders 25, Friday 21 May, HBF Park, Perth, 7:45pm

Blues 48 def. NSW Waratahs 21, Saturday 22 May, Eden Park, Auckland, 2:35pm

Chiefs 40 def. Brumbies 21, Saturday 22 May, FMG Stadium, Hamilton, 5:05pm

Queensland Reds 28 def. by Crusaders 63, Saturday 22 May, Suncorp Stadium, Brisbane, 7:45pm

Round Three

Hurricanes 43 def. Western Force 6, Friday 28 May, McLean Park, Napier, 5:05pm

NSW Waratahs 28 def by. Crusaders 54, Saturday 29 May, WIN Stadium, Wollongong, 3:05pm

Blues 38 def. Brumbies 10, Saturday 29 May, Eden Park, Auckland, 5:15pm

Queensland Reds 40 def. Chiefs 34, Saturday 29 May, Queensland Country Bank Stadium, Townsville, 7:45pm

Highlanders 42 def. Melbourne Rebels 27, Sunday 30 May, Leichhardt Oval, Sydney, 3:00 pm.

Round Four

Crusaders 29 def. Western Force 21, Friday 4 June, Orangetheory Stadium, Christchurch, 5:05pm

Queensland Reds 24 def by. Blues 31, Friday 4 June, Suncorp Stadium, Brisbane, 7:45pm

Highlanders 59 def. NSW Waratahs 23, Saturday 5 June, Forsyth Barr Stadium, Dunedin, 5:05pm

Brumbies 12 def. Hurricanes 10, Saturday 5 June, GIO Stadium, Canberra, 7:45pm

Chiefs 36 def. Melbourne Rebels 26, Sunday 6 June, Leichhardt Oval, Sydney, 3:00 pm.

Round Five

Hurricanes v Queensland Reds, Friday 11 June, Sky Stadium, Wellington, 5:05pm

Brumbies v Highlanders, Friday 11 June, GIO Stadium, Canberra, 7:45pm

Melbourne Rebels v Crusaders, Saturday 12 June, Leichhardt Oval, Sydney, 2:35pm

Blues v Western Force, Saturday 12 June, Eden Park, Auckland, 5:05pm

NSW Waratahs v Chiefs, Saturday 12 June, Brookvale Oval, Sydney 7:45pm


Saturday 19 June 2021


Two law innovations trialled in Super Rugby AU and Aotearoa are set to continue into the Harvey Norman Super Rugby Trans-Tasman series after an agreement by Rugby Australia and New Zealand Rugby.

Goal line drop-outs and replacements for red-carded players after 20 minutes will be the two law innovations carried into the Trans-Tasman series.

Along with this, the competitions final on June 19th will be under the same extra-time protocols as the recent Harvey Norman Super Rugby AU Final between the Reds and Brumbies.

Laws surrounding the 50/22 kick and the captain's challenge will not be played as they look to increase the speed of the game.

Click here for all the news surrounding the law changes

New goal line dropout rule to be incorporated into Trans Tasman matches


All five Australian teams will face the five New Zealand teams across the next five weeks of competition.

The ladders from Super Rugby AU and Aotearoa will be reset, with the two most successful teams battling it out in the Final.

Teams will also share the points for tied matches during the round-robin stage.

Share Logo

The are a proud part of Rugby AU

© 2021 Australian Rugby. All rights reserved.