Stable Force line-up named for crunch Waratahs clash

Wed, May 15, 2024, 3:57 AM
by Ben Somerford
The Stan Sport crew analysed the team news ahead of Saturday night's Western Force v NSW Waratahs game in Perth, on The Call-up.

Stability is the theme for the Western Force with only one change to the 23-player team list for Saturday’s Super Rugby Pacific Round 13 game against the NSW Waratahs at HBF Park.

Wallaby Issak Fines-Leleiwasa returns to the reserves after an ankle complaint to replace scrum-half Henry Robertson, who impressed in his 30-minute cameo in the 48-10 win over the Fijian Drua having been elevated to the squad on an injury cover contract for the past two games.

There is one change to the starting XV with Harry Hoopert, who will run out for his 50th Super Rugby game, elevated to loosehead prop. Marley Pearce will start as a finisher.

Ben Donaldson is also named at fly-half for his 50th Super Rugby game, coming against his former side. Lock Jeremy Williams will lead the side as captain.

The Force’s stability comes at the right time of the season with the side sitting two points outside the finals placings, rising to ninth after last week’s 48-10 bonus-point win over the eighth-placed Fijian Drua.

The Force players will be welcomed on to the pitch on Saturday with a Members’ Guard of Honour as part of Members Round, celebrating the Club’s loyal supporters.

Head to our Game Day Hub to see what's happening at the ground to celebrate Members Round.

Kick-off is 5:35pm WST with tickets available through Ticketmaster, along with the Force’s Flexi Membership, with four tickets to any of the remaining two games for only $75.

The game will be broadcast live on 9GEM and streamed on Stan Sport, with regular updates @WesternForce on social media.

Game details

Western Force v NSW Waratahs

HBF Park, Perth

Saturday 18 May, 5:35pm WST

Live on 9GEM and Stan Sport

Force team list

Starting XV: Harry Hoopert, Tom Horton, Santiago Medrano, Jeremy Williams (c), Izack Rodda, Will Harris, Carlo Tizzano, Reed Prinsep, Nic White, Ben Donaldson, Chase Tiatia, Hamish Stewart, Bayley Kuenzle, George Poolman, Kurtley Beale

Reserves: Feleti Kaitu’u, Marley Pearce, Tiaan Tauakipulu, Lopeti Faifua, Michael Wells, Issak Fines-Leleiwasa, Sam Spink, Henry O’Donnell

'I’m forever indebted': Perese out to end Waratahs stint on high
Brumbies blocking out minor premiers discussions as Schoupp set to offset Slipper setback
Kiss coy on selection as Queensland eye Templeton Cup defence in Sydney
Rebels prop Taniela Tupou cleared to face Drua after dangerous cleanout citing