Reds prop Taniela Tupou wins back-to-back Pilecki Medals

Sun, 18/07/2021, 11:16 pm
Nathan Williamson
by Nathan Williamson
Taniela Tupou with the Pilecki Medal after being named Reds player's player. Photo: QRU/Brendan Hertel

Taniela Tupou has continued his incredible season, awarded the Pilecki Medal as the Reds' player's player.

Tupou (273 votes) was the clear winner after his dominant showing across the 14 games he played, finishing almost 100 votes ahead of second-place Hunter Paisami (175) and Angus Scott-Young (138).

Get your tickets now for The Rugby Championship now

“It means a lot to me. I’m just happy, we all worked hard and I’m just the lucky one to get the medal,” said Tupou after being awarded the medal at their end of season Awards Lunch.

“I couldn’t have done this without the boys. Without them, I wouldn’t have been able to win this.

"To know they’re your mates, your team-mates and they trust in you and have faith in you means a lot to me. I love playing with them and hopefully we can do it again next year.”

Tupou with a pearler to Jake Gordon

The 25-year-old becomes the seventh player in Reds history to win back-to-back awards, joining the likes of Samu Kerevi, Will Genia, Chris Latham and Jason Little.

Angus Scott Young, who finished third in the race, was honoured for his ongoing commitment with 'the Spirit of the Reds' awards.

Lock Ryan Smith was also named Rookie of the Year after his breakout season, edging out the likes of Suliasi Vunivalu, Kalani Thomas and Isaac Henry

2021 Pilecki Medal Top 10

1st– Taniela Tupou (273 votes)

2nd– Hunter Paisami (175 votes)

3rd– Angus Scott-Young (138 votes)

4th– Harry Wilson (134 votes)

5th– James O’Connor (123 votes)

6th– Alex Mafi (107 votes)

7th– Tate McDermott (106 votes)

8th– Suliasi Vunivalu (104 votes)

9th– Lukhan Salakaia-Loto (94 votes)

10th– Filipo Daugunu (83 votes)


'SPECIAL' WIN: Hooper hails Wallabies

RATINGS SURGE: Series finale delivers viewership results

LATE CHANGE: Lawson added to Sevens squad

Share Logo

The are a proud part of Rugby AU

© 2021 Australian Rugby. All rights reserved.