Log in

NSW Waratahs, Queensland Reds confirm sides for Super W semi-final

Wed, 13/04/2022, 12:58 am
Nathan Williamson
by Nathan Williamson
Waratahs skipper Grace Hamilton speaks to the broadcast after her team's victory against the Reds

The NSW Waratahs and Queensland Reds have confirmed their sides ahead of Thursday's semi-final at Eric Tweedale Oval.

Waratahs coach Campbell Aitken has received a major boost with Wallaroo Mahalia Murphy cleared to return from a hamstring complaint.

Catch every game of the 2022 Super W season on Stan Sport. Start your Free Sport Trial Now

Murphy, who has not featured since her five-try haul against the Rebels in round three, slots into fullback as the Waratahs look to replicate last week’s drubbing.

She is joined in the backline by Nicole Nathan, who starts in place of Katrina Barker (shoulder), partnering Georgina Friedrichs in the centres.

There is one change to the pack, with Eva Karpani’s impressive form seeing her elevated to the starting side.

Adiana Talakai and teenage sensation Ella Koster are the new faces on the bench, joined by Bridie O’Gorman and Lori Cramer.

As for the Reds, they have made a number of changes after Saturday's defeat, handing Tina Campbell and Imogen Hei their starting debuts.

Campbell comes into the second row alongside Annabelle Codey after Aleena Greenhalgh was ruled out.

Meanwhile, 16-year-old Hei slots into scrum half in place of Sarah Lewis, with Renae Nona retaining the starting flyhalf position.

Sophie Holyman returns to the starting side at number eight, joined by Hana Lane and captain Shannon Parry in the back-row.

Sarah Riordan has been added to the wing for her first start in 2022, which drops Caity Costello to the bench

WARATAHS (1-15): Emily Robinson, Natalie Delamere, Eva Karpani, Kaitlan Leaney, Sera Naiqama, Piper Duck, Emily Chancellor, Grace Hamilton, Illseva Batibasaga, Arabella McKenzie, Tatum Bird, Nicole Nathan, Georgina Friedrichs, Margot Vella, Mahalia Murphy

RESERVES: Penelope Leiatua, Adiana Talakai, Bridie O’Gorman, Sabine Blakeman, Ella Koster, Pauline Piliae, Lori Cramer, Layne Morgan

REDS (1-15): Alapeta Ngauamo, Tasmin Sheppard, Liz Patu, Tina Campbell, Annabelle Codey, Hana Lane, Shannon Parry (c), Sophie Holyman, Imogen Hei, Renae Ngona, Ivania Wong, Cecilia Smith, Melanie Wilks, Sarah Riordan, Ellie Draper

RESERVES: Madi Schuck, Tiarna Molloy, Theresa Soloai, Grace Qaranivalu, Okeroa Manihera, Skyla Adams, Malaela Su'a, Caity Costello

'It’s pretty humbling': Swain reflects on milestone match after reality check
Super Rugby Pacific Teams: All the team news for Round 15
Rebels aim to help Force make Super finals
Coach Joel Imeson with the Yamba Buccaneers Under-16s team. Photo Supplied
Crippled Crows, Fighting Miners and Yabbies Catch Grassroots Buzz
Rugby.com.au Logo

The Rugby.com.au are a proud part of Rugby AU

© 2021 Australian Rugby. All rights reserved.