Log in

Hooper, Kerevi named in World Rugby's Team of the Year

Wed, 08/12/2021, 9:01 am
Nathan Williamson
by Nathan Williamson
A brave showing in Cardiff from the Wallabies

Wallabies Michael Hooper and Samu Kerevi have been officially named in World Rugby's Dream Team of the Year.

Hooper and Kerevi were in November named on the four-man shortlist for the Player of the Year alongside Antoine Dupont and Maro Itoje, who headline the side.

Catch every game of the 2022 Super Rugby Pacific season on Stan Sport. Start your Free Sport Trial Now

Unsurprisingly, the 15s Dream Team is dominated by defending world champions and world number one South Africa, with five Springboks named.

Malcolm Marx has been named at hooker despite starting just one game across the 2021 Test calendar.

He is joined in the front-row by Welsh prop Wyn Jones and Ireland's Tadhg Furlong.

England star Itoje and South Africa enforcer Eben Etzebeth complete the tight five, with many considering Etzebteh unlucky to miss nomination for the POTY award.

It's an all Southern Hemisphere back row with All Black Ardie Savea joined by fellow skippers Hooper and the inspirational Siya Kolisi.


STATEMENT: Kuenzle ready to push NZ sides

COMPETING: Thomas relishing scrumhalf battle

HONOUR: Cole hand Referee Award

In the backs, Dupont partners Beauden Barrett, having stepped into the starting role for the All Blacks during the Rugby Championship.

Kerevi and Lukhanyo Am make up the centres, with Makazole Mapimpi, Will Jordan and Scotland's Stuart Hogg rounding out the backline.

The squad was selected by the Awards panel, which includes Maggie Alphonsi, Fiona Coghlan, Thierry Dusautoir, George Gregan, Richie McCaw, Brian O’Driscoll, Melodie Robinson, John Smit and Clive Woodward.

The award ceremony will continue throughout the week, with the World Player of the Year set to be announced on December 10 (Australian time).

At the start of the week, Australian Andrew Cole was honoured for his services to refereeing, handed the World Rugby Referee Award.

World Rugby's Men's 15 Dream Team of the Year

  1. Wyn Jones (Wales)
  2. Malcolm Marx (South Africa)
  3. Tadhg Furlong (Ireland )
  4. Maro Itoje (England)
  5. Eben Etzebeth (South Africa)
  6. Siya Kolisi (South Africa)
  7. Michael Hooper (Australia)
  8. Ardie Savea (New Zealand)
  9. Antoine Dupont (France)
  10. Beauden Barrett (New Zealand)
  11. Makazole Mapimpi (South Africa)
  12. Samu Kerevi (Australia)
  13. Lukhanyo Am (South Africa)
  14. Will Jordan (New Zealand)
  15. Stuart Hogg (Scotland)

Fainga'a, Wallabies eager to bounce back after Argentina disappointment
Wallaroos taking confidence out of promising Black Ferns performance ahead of O'Reilly Cup
New Zealand Rugby stick with Foster as All Blacks coach
Former Force coach Tim Sampson joins Melbourne Rebels
Rugby.com.au Logo

The Rugby.com.au are a proud part of Rugby AU

© 2021 Australian Rugby. All rights reserved.