George Smith inducted into World Rugby Hall of Fame

Tue, Oct 10, 2023, 12:01 PM
Nathan Williamson
by Nathan Williamson
George Smith has been inducted into the World Rugby Hall of Fame. Photo: Getty Images
George Smith has been inducted into the World Rugby Hall of Fame. Photo: Getty Images

Wallabies legend George Smith has been honoured for his incredible career, set to be inducted into the World Rugby Hall of Fame.

Smith will go into the Hall of Fame at #164 at the World Rugby Awards, set to be held in Paris on October 29, the day after the Rugby World Cup Final.

Watch every game of the Rugby World Cup LIVE on Stan Sport. Start watching Stan Sport now.

He will be inducted alongside Dan Carter (New Zealand), Thierry Dusautoir (France), Juan Martín Hernández (Argentina) and Bryan Habana (South Africa).

Smith is the 19th Australian to go into the Hall of Fame, joining the likes of George Gregan, David Campese, Mark Ella and Nick Farr-Jones.

Fellow inductee and Chairman of the Hall of Fame panel John Eales celebrate the recognition of Smith along with the other legends.

“As our game celebrates another successful Rugby World Cup it is timely to recognise those who have contributed to making our game the wonderful global sport that it is," Eales said in a statement.

"Today we induct a series of rugby players into the World Rugby Hall of Fame who have each thrived on the world stage as exemplars of the athletic requirements of our game, and just as importantly, as ambassadors of the values of our game. Congratulations to our five inductees.”

Smith made his Wallabies debut as a 20-year-old against France in November 2000.

The flanker helped Australia to a series win against the British and Irish Lions and a Tri Nations title before guiding the Wallabies to the 2003 World Cup Final.

Smith played 111 games for the Wallabies, including making a brief return in 2013 to the Test arena.

The two-time John Eales Medalist also played 142 games for the Brumbies along with 22 games for the Queensland Reds in between stints in Japan, France and England.

“Rugby World Cup 2023 is our 200th birthday party, the sport’s greatest celebration of togetherness. We are proud to be inducting five legends of the game, players who are indelibly linked to the remarkable Rugby World Cup story," World Rugby Chairman Bill Beaumont added.

“Each have played a huge role in making the sport what it is today, exciting and inspiring in equal measure, while always being superb ambassadors for their sport. Their impact was greater than the field of play, it transcended sport and society, taking rugby to another level. Congratulations to our inductees. We look forward to celebrating their achievements at the World Rugby Awards in Paris on 29 October.”

Melvyn Jaminet is one of the few experienced Test players in France's July squad. Photo: Getty Images
Galthie names 19 uncapped players for France summer tour
Racing 92 owner Jacky Lorenzetti has lashed out at Siya Kolisi after their defeat to Bordeaux. Photo: AFP
'Invisible' Kolisi roasted by owner after Racing 92 Top 14 playoff defeat
'We’re keen to see how he goes': Manenti backs Nawaqanitawase to make Sevens difference
SRP Captain’s Survey reflection: Hurricanes surprise everyone as Blues, Brumbies true home graveyards