Defending champion Waratahs confirm Super W squad

Tue, 08/06/2021, 05:00 am
Nathan Williamson
by Nathan Williamson
The NSW Waratahs have named their Super W squad. Photo: Getty Images

The defending champion Waratahs have confirmed their squad for the upcoming Super W season.

The Waratahs, who are undefeated across the competition, have named eight players with Wallaroos experience, led by skipper Grace Hamilton.

Watch every minute of Super W on Stan Sport. Start your Free Sport Trial Now

“There is a lot of young talent in New South Wales so it is an exciting time for us,” coach Campbell Aitken said in a statement.

“Cutting the squad down from 45 to 32 and now more recently to 27 has been difficult due to the quality of players to choose from.

“It is a hard squad to make with a number of Wallaroos in it, so a lot of the players have been rewarded for their efforts over the past 12 months.”

WXV Women's Global Competition Explainer

With the competition ending abruptly last year due to COVID, Hamilton was eager to return to action, starting with a trip to Brisbane to face the Reds on June 19th.

"We are just excited to play again for the Waratahs and be back in competitive Rugby, as I am sure all the girls in the Super W would be,” said Hamilton.

“It was unfinished last year, but we are a very tightknit group and have worked really hard so I am excited for all of our new, young talent to be on show at the national level.

“It will be a tough opening game against the Reds, who are a quality opposition.

“We have a lot of respect for them and I am sure they will be just as excited as us.”

The Waratahs will then travel to Coffs Harbour the following week, which will the venue for Round 2, 3 and the Finals.

Waratahs squad

Adiana Talakai (Sydney University)

Arabella McKenzie (Easts)

Ashleigh Walker (Hunter Wildfires)

Asoiva (Eva) Karpani (Randwick)

Brianna Hoy (Sydney University)

Bridie O’Gorman (Sydney University

Emily Chancellor (Sydney University)

Emily Robinson (Warringah)

Faliki Pohiva (Sydney University)

Fi Jones (Sydney University)

Georgina Fredrichs (Easts)

Georgina Tuipulotu (Sydney University)

Grace Hamilton (Sydney University)

Iliseva Batibasaga (Sydney University)

Kaitlan Leaney (Hunter Wildfires)

Katrina Barker (Warringah)

Layne Morgan (Easts)

Mahalia Murphy (Western Sydney Two Blues)

Margot Vella (Warringah)

Maya Stewart (Easts)

Nicole Nathan (Easts)

Pauline Piliae (Western Sydney Two Blues)

Penelope Leiataua (Sydney University)

Piper Duck (Sydney University)

Sabine Blakeman (Warringah)

Sera Naiqama (Sydney University)

Skye Churchill (Easts)


DAN THE MAN: McKellar joins Wallabies staff


WALLABY WATCH: Wilson, Lee-Warner impress

Nic White is pushing for his Wallabies return after missing the France series with injury. Photo: Getty Images
Injured half Nic White pushes for Bledisloe return as Wallabies head for New Zealand
Warren Gatland is preparing for a blockbuster final test. Photo: Getty Images
Gatland ready for Lions-Boks 'Cup final'
South Africa have cruised to victory over the British and Irish Lions. Photo: Getty Images
South Africa dominate Lions in second half to level series
The Aussies will be looking to bounce back after their shock second day defeats. Photo: Getty Images
Rugby Sevens Tokyo OIympic Games 2020: Women's tournament results and live blog Logo

The are a proud part of Rugby AU

© 2021 Australian Rugby. All rights reserved.