British & Irish Lions hooker Dan Sheehan has been handed a three match ban for his high cleanout on Tom Lynagh.
Sheehan was cited for the incident in the 32nd minute during the Wallabies' 22-12 win in the final Test of the series.
Secure your home tickets for the 2025 Rugby Championship today!
The Irish hooker collected Wallabies flyhalf Lynagh in the head as he looked to clean him out, with the hit leading to the playmaker failing his HIA.
Despite Sheehan not accepting that foul play occurred, the Independent Foul Play Review Committee found his actions 'reckless', leading to the four-match ruling.
This will be reduced to three on completion of a coaching intervention, which rules Sheehan out of the first two weeks of the URC.
"In determining the sanction, the Committee noted that in his submissions, the player had not accepted that foul play occurred and did not accept that the offence warranted the citing," World Rugby's statement said.
"The Committee reviewed the matter, including submissions and footage, and determined that Sheehan's actions were contrary to Law 9.20(a) (charging into a ruck or maul).
"In determining foul play, the Committee found that Sheehan's actions were reckless. The Committee found that he made head contact with the Australian player, that his action amounted to a high degree of danger and that no mitigation applied.
"On the basis of all the evidence before them, the Committee decided that the offending warranted the mandatory mid range entry point of six matches. The Committee decided not to award full 50% mitigation due to the non-acceptance of foul play resulting in a final sanction of four matches (reduced to three on successful completion of the coaching intervention)."
It leaves Sheehan free to face the Wallabies on November 16 with Ireland as part of the Spring Tour.