Australia A squad confirmed for Pacific Nations Cup

Tue, Jun 14, 2022, 9:57 PM
Nathan Williamson
by Nathan Williamson
The Australia A squad has been confirmed for the Pacific Nations Cup. Photo: Getty Images
The Australia A squad has been confirmed for the Pacific Nations Cup. Photo: Getty Images

Australia A have confirmed their travelling squad ahead of next month's Pacific Nations Cup in Fiji.

The squad includes eight capped Wallabies as well as a host of exciting, up-and-coming players that impressed during Super Rugby Pacific.

Don't miss out! Purchase your tickets for the Wallabies' three-Test series against England

Rebels veteran Reece Hodge headlines the squad, joined by the likes of Feleti Kaitu'u, Tom Robertson, Fraser McReight, Lalakai Foketi and Filipo Daugunu.

Waratahs assistant coach Jason Gilmore will coach the side, reuniting with McReight, Ben Donaldson, Will Harris and Mark Nawaqantiawase, who all featured in the 2019 U20 Championships.

Backrower Ned Hanigan also joins the squad, having made his return midway through the Super Rugby Pacific season from Japanese club Kurita Water Gush.

"The team has a good combination of experienced and young players and I think the team will get a lot out of the upcoming tournament in Fiji," Gilmore said in a statement.

“Looking at some of the names included in the squad, it is apparent that the depth within Australian Rugby continues to grow and I think our inclusion in the Pacific Nations Cup will be beneficial.” 

The team is comprised of nine players each from the Waratahs and Reds, six from the Western Force, three Brumbies and two Rebels.

The group will assemble on Sunday 26 June in Sydney before travelling to Fiji for their first game on Saturday 2 July against Samoa in Suva. 

This will be followed by facing Fiji on 9 July in Lautoka, before completing their tournament against Tonga seven days later.

Australia A Pacific Nations Cup Squad

Tim Anstee (Western Force)

Jock Campbell (Queensland Reds)

Filipo Daugunu (Queensland Reds)

Ben Donaldson (NSW Waratahs)

Tane Edmed (NSW Waratahs)

Matt Faessler (Queensland Reds)

Lalakai Foketi (NSW Waratahs)

Feao Fotuaika (Queensland Reds)

Matt Gibbon (Melbourne Rebels)

Langi Gleeson (NSW Waratahs)

Ned Hanigan (NSW Waratahs)

Will Harris (NSW Waratahs)

Reece Hodge (Melbourne Rebels)

Harry Hoopert (Queensland Reds)

Harry Johnson-Holmes (NSW Waratahs)

Feleti Kaitu'u (Western Force)

Ryan Lonergan (Brumbies)

Ryan McCauley (Western Force)

Fraser McReight (Queensland Reds)

Andy Muirhead (Brumbies)

Mark Nawaqanitawase (NSW Waratahs)

Dylan Pietsch (NSW Waratahs)

Billy Pollard (Brumbies)

Jackson Pugh (Western Force)

Tom Robertson (Western Force)

Ryan Smith (Queensland Reds)

Hamish Stewart (Queensland Reds)

Jake Strachan (Western Force)

Seru Uru (Queensland Reds)

Super Rugby Pacific 2024 TOTW: Looking at the best Australian performers from Round Two
The Aussies went down to NZ in the LA Final. Photo: World Rugby
New Zealand, Blyde power to victory over Australia in LA
RECAP: Women go down in Final, Men finish seventh in LA
Ardie Savea was dominant with a four-try display in Japan. Photo: Getty Images
Savea scores four tries in big Japanese club rugby win