TEAMS: Wallabies return for top of the table clash

Wed, 07/04/2021, 07:00 am
Nathan Williamson
by Nathan Williamson
All the team news for Round Eight of Harvey Norman Super Rugby AU

The Reds will face the Brumbies at Suncorp Stadium in a top-of-the-table clash, with hosting rights for the Grand Final on the line.

To start Round Eight, the Rebels will welcome the Force to AAMI Park as they battle it out to book a spot in the finals.

Watch every minute of Super Rugby AU on Stan Sport. Start your Free Sport Trial Now

All the team news here from 5pm AEST.

Friday 9 April 7.45pm AEST – Melbourne Rebels v Western Force at AAMI Park, ad-free, live and on demand on Stan Sport.

Want to get to the game? Make sure you’ve got your tickets beforehand!

Dave Wessels has opted to shift Reece Hodge back to fullback, allowing Sevens superstar Lewis Holland to start in the centres.

He has also made the decision to move Jordan Uelese and Steve Cummins to the bench, with James Hanson and Rob Leota promoted to the starting line-up in their place.

Argentinian international Lucio Sordoni and Brad Wilkin make their return via the bench, replacing Albert Anae and Tom Nowlan.

As for the Force, they will go into this clash with a completely new backline, headlined by the return of captain Kyle Godwin.

Godwin replaces Henry Taefu at inside centre whilst coach Tim Sampson has selected Domingo Miotti at flyhalf over Jake McIntrye as well as handing English young gun Jordan Olowofela a start on the wing in place of Marcel Brache.

Former All Black Jeremy Thrush returns to the side, demoting Ryan McCauley to the reserves whilst Santiago Medrano comes into the starting line-up for Greg Holmes. Angus Wagner and Kieran Longbottom have been added to the bench.

They are joined on the bench by Wanneroo product Grason Makara, who replaces Jono Lance.

REBELS (1-15): Cabous Eloff, James Hanson, Pone Faamausili, Rob Leota, Trevor Hosea, Josh Kemeny, Richard Hardwick, Michael Wells, Joe Powell, Matt To'omua (c), Marika Koroibete, Lewis Holland, Stacey Ili, Frank Lomani, Reece Hodge

Reserves: Jordan Uelese, Matt Gibbon, Lucio Sordoni, Steve Cummins, Brad Wilkin, James Tuttle, Tom Pincus, Jeral Skelton

INs: Lucio Sordoni, Brad Wilkin

OUT: Albert Anae, Thomas Nowlan

FORCE (1-15): Tom Robertson, Feleti Kaitu'u, Santiago Medrano, Jeremy Thrush, Sitaleki Timani, Fergus Lee-Warner, Kane Koteka, Tomas Lezana, Tomas Cubelli, Domingo Miotti, Jordan Olowofela, Kyle Godwin (c), Tevita Kuridrani, Byron Ralston, Jack McGregor.

Reserves: Andrew Ready, Jack Winchester, Angus Wagner, Kieran Longbottom, Ryan McCauley, Tim Anstee, Brynard Stander, Ian Prior, Grason Makara, Richard Kahui (two to omit)

INs: Kieran Longbottom, Jeremy Thrush, Kyle Godwin, Domingo Miotti, Grason Makara, Richard Kahui, Andrew Ready

OUTs: Greg Holmes, Jake McIntyre, Marcel Brache, Henry Taefu, Jono Lance

Wallabies and Brumbies fullback Tom Wright has made a statement during his Super Rugby AU return

Saturday 10 April 7:45pm AEST – Queensland Reds v Brumbies at Suncorp Stadium, ad-free, live and on demand on Stan Sport and simulcast on 9Gem

Want to get to the game? Make sure you’ve got your tickets beforehand!

Reds coach Brad Thorn has made just one change to the side that defeated the Rebels last Saturday.

However, it’s a big one as Liam Wright makes his long-awaited return via the bench, replacing Angus Blyth

The Brumbies have also received a massive boost, with Allan Alaalatoa returning after serving a three-match suspension in place of Harry Lloyd.

He is joined in the starting line-up by Darcy Swain, who partners Cadeyrn Neville in the second row.

Scott Sio also makes his return via the bench with Fred Kaihea dropping out of the side.

REDS(1-15): Feao Fotuaika, Brandon Paenga-Amosa, Taniela Tupou, Ryan Smith, Lukhan Salakaia-Loto, Angus Scott-Young, Fraser McReight, Harry Wilson, Tate McDermott, James O'Connor (c), Jock Campbell, Hamish Stewart, Hunter Paisami, Jordan Petaia, Bryce Hegarty

Reserves: Alex Mafi, Richie Asiata, Zane Nonggorr, Seru Uru, Liam Wright, Kalani Thomas, Josh Flook, Filipo Daugunu

INs: Liam Wright

OUTs: Angus Blyth

BRUMBIES(1-15): James Slipper, Folau Fainga'a, Allan Alaalatoa (c), Darcy Swain, Cadeyrn Neville, Rob Valetini, Tom Cusack, Pete Samu, Nic White, Noah Lolesio, Tom Wright, Irae Simone, Len Ikitau, Andy Muirhead, Tom Banks

Reserves: Lachlan Lonergan, Scott Sio, Sefo Kautai, Nick Frost, James Tucker, Ryan Lonergan, Bayley Kuenzle, Mack Hansen

INs: Allan Alaalatoa, Darcy Swain, Scott Sio

OUTs: Harry Lloyd, Fred Kaihea, Rory Scott


READY TO GO: Reds want to make statement

BUBBLE BOOST: Super Rugby Trans Tasman set to soar

MILLER TIME: From the farm to grand final rematch

Braydon Ennor is set to return for the Crusaders ahead of the Final. Photo: Getty Images
Super Rugby Aotearoa Final: All the Team news for Crusaders v Chiefs
Dave Rennie speaks after giving blood on the Gold Coast. Photo: Getty Images
"We're keen to get them back": Dave Rennie open to overseas Wallabies returning for World Cup
Michael Hooper is pushing for Top League glory. Photo: Getty Images
Aussies aim for semi-finals in Japan
Lote Tuqiri continues his work for the Classic Wallabies as they head to Queensland
Classic Wallabies and Wallaroos embracing country Queensland during 'Beef Week' Logo

The are a proud part of Rugby AU

© 2021 Australian Rugby. All rights reserved.