2024 NSW Waratahs Season Awards Winners

Tue, Jun 18, 2024, 11:30 AM
Waratahs Media
by Waratahs Media

The NSW Waratahs celebrated their 2024 Season Awards last night at the Grand Ballroom at the Hyatt Regency, with Lachlan Swinton and Atasi Lafai taking home the top honours of the night.

Swinton and Lafai were selected by their peers as their respective side’s best player across the calendar year, claiming the Matt Burke Cup and Lafai winning the Women’s Player of the Year Award.

In his final season with the Waratahs before departing for France, Swinton was a perpetual force at blindside flanker all season and also took out the club’s Best Forward Award.

The 27-year-old now joins the prestigious list of past Matt Burke Cup winners such as Phil Waugh, Tatafu Polota-Nau, Wycliff Palu, Michael Hooper, and Dave Dennis.

Men’s Final Standings

Lachlan Swinton - 219

Dylan Pietsch - 161

Jake Gordon - 161

Charlie Gamble - 150

Mark Nawaqanitawase - 118

Mahe Vailanu – 109

Lafai was a colossal presence at lock for the Waratahs Women and was instrumental in leading the side to their fifth championship.

Previous winners of the Women’s Player of the Year Award include Grace Hamilton, Ash Hewson, Georgina Friedrichs and last year’s winner Piper Duck.

Women’s Final Standings:

Atasi Lafai - 132

Leilani Nathan - 131

Desiree Miller - 91

Caitlyn Halse - 86

Maya Stewart - 68

Skye Churchill - 66

Full list of 2024 NSW Waratahs Award Winners:

Waratahs Women’s Rookie of the Year – Waiaria Ellis

Waratahs Women’s Best Back – Desiree Miller

Waratahs Women’s Best Forward – Leilani Nathan

Waratahs Women’s Player of the Year – Atasi Lafai

Chris Whitaker Aspiring Waratah Medal – Miles Amatosero

Dave Dennis Player of the Year (Elite Youth Development Program) – Jack Barrett

Waratahs Men’s Best Back – Jake Gordon

Waratahs Men’s Best Forward – Lachlan Swinton

Matt Burke Cup – Lachlan Swinton

Lancaster to debut as Schmidt names new look side to face Georgia
Billy Proctor will start for the All Blacks against Fiji. Photo: Getty Images
All Blacks make 11 changes for Test against Fiji
Forward duo Franklin and Prinsep pen new Force deals
Paris Olympic Games 2024: Rugby Sevens Fixtures