2021 Super Rugby Preview - Western Force

Tue, 16/02/2021, 08:00 pm
RUGBY.com.au staff
by RUGBY.com.au staff
The Western Force will have a point to prove in 2021. Photo: Getty Images

The Force have made it clear they won’t be wooden spoon holders again in 2021. 

With a raft of new talent this year, they’ll be a powerful and experienced side overflowing with International stars like Rob Kearney and Tomas Cubelli, and each will be expected to regularly feature in the starting line-up. 

While they didn’t win a game after being welcomed back into the competition in 2020, this year will be different, and their pre-season trial against the Brumbies proved that. 

WHO’S IN: Bo Abra, Santiago Medrano, Tom Robertson, Jack Winchester, Ryan McCauley, Tim Anstee, Tomas Lezana, Tomas Cubelli, Michael McDonald, Jake McIntyre, Domingo Miotti, Tevita Kuridrani, Toni Pulu and Rob Kearney. 

WHO’S OUT:  n/a 


ONE TO WATCH: Byron Ralston He was a rising star in 2020 and can only get better with age. A standout in Premier Rugby in Brisbane, followed by on-going accolades at the U20s and then NRC level, Ralston took his Super Rugby debut in his stride. 

Leading the Forces score card for tries (4), defenders beaten (12), carry metres (325) and line breaks (4), he’s the winger that every one of his opposite numbers doesn’t want to come up against. 


Winners aren’t born, they’re made, and this is the attitude which the Force need to maintain. 

There’s no doubt the emotion of last season is continuing to carry over and the Force aren’t going to become the competition easy-beats this year. With a swarm of new talent, they’ll be a side that’s in the fight.



2021 Western Force Squad 

Bo Abra

Tim Anstee

Marcel Brache

Ollie Callan

Tomas Cubelli

Kyle Godwin

Victor Harris

Chris Heiberg

Greg Holmes

Richard Kahui

Feleti Kaitu'u

Rob Kearney

Kane Koteka

Tevita Kuridrani

Brad Lacey

Jono Lance

Fergus Lee-Warner

Tomas Lezana

Kieran Longbottom

Grason Makara

Ryan McCauley

Jack McGregor

Jake McIntyre

Michael McDonald

Santiago Medrano

Domingo MiottiIan Prior

Jackson Pugh

Toni Pulu

Byron Ralston

Andrew Ready

Tom Robertson

Brynard Stander

Jake Strachan

Henry Taefu

Jeremy Thrush

Angus Wagner

Jack Winchester

Rugby.com.au Logo

The Rugby.com.au are a proud part of Rugby AU

© 2021 Australian Rugby. All rights reserved.