Super Rugby AU Teams: All the round five lineups here

Super Rugby - AU
by staff

The Super Rugby AU competition is reaching its halfway point and there are some cracking fixtures this weekend.

The Force host the Rebels on Friday night and then the competition heads to Canberra as the Brumbies attempt to keep their stranglehold over Queensland.

Rebels captain Dane Haylett-Petty will miss a reunion with his former Super Rugby team, ruled out with a knee injury, triggering a host of changes.

Reece Hodge will line up at fullback in the skipper's place and flyhalf Matt To'omua will take over the captaincy for the weekend.

Andrew Kellaway moves into the no. 13 jersey while mid-season recruit Tom Pincus will make his Super Rugby debut on the wing.

Coach Dave Wessels has reshuffled their pack too, headlined by the inclusion of Isi Naisarani to the starting no. 8 spot for his 50th Super Rugby cap.

Jermaine Ainsley will start at tighthead prop over Pone Fa'amausili and second rower Matt Philip has shifted back to the bench.

Rookies Esei Ha'angana and Trevor Hosea will team up in that second row department.

Brad Wilkin will make his first Super Rugby AU appearance on Friday night, returning from an ACL injury he suffered in April 2019. 

Former All Black Richard Kahui and Kyle Godwin will make up a new centre pairing for the Western Force.

As part of that change, Marcel Brache moves from outside centre onto the wing and Brad Lacey shifts to the pine.

Captain Ian Prior returns after a week off with a shoulder injury, pushing Nick Frisby to the bench.

Force legend Pek Cowan has been named for his first Super Rugby AU appearance after returning from Japan earlier this month and serving his quarantine period.

Chris Heiberg will start at loosehead and youngster Angus Wagner drops out of the 23.

Reds rising star Jordan Petaia will play his first match since February when Queensland travels to Canberra this weekend.

Petaia hasn't played since dislocating his shoulder in training in Argentina in February and at the time it appeared his Super Rugby season would be over.

Angus Blyth has also returned from a shoulder complaint to team up with Lukhan Salakaia-Loto in the second row.

Blyth's return means that Angus Scott-Young switches to blindside flanker, with skipper Liam Wright at openside and Fraser McReight on the bench.

In a surprise move, Tate McDermott has been shifted to the bench with Samoa international Scott Malolua starting alongside James O'Connor.

The injury news isn't so good for prop Harry Hoopert, who has been ruled out for 4-5 weeks with a medial ligament injury, replaced by Dane Zander in the starting loosehead spot.

Brumbies coach Dan McKellar has tweaked his lineup for the GIO Stadium clash.

Darcy Swain will start in the second row, combining with Nick Frost, in the only change to the starting XV.

Prop Tom Ross replaces Harry Lloyd on the bench and Tom Cusack returns in place of Ben Hyne.

Watch every match on Foxtel, Foxtel Now and kayo Sports. Buy a Kayo subscription here.


All times AEST.

Friday July 31

7:05pm  - Force vs Rebels, Leichhardt Oval, LIVE on Foxtel, Foxtel Now and Kayo Sports. Buy tickets here. 

Saturday August 1

7:15pm - Brumbies vs Reds, GIO Stadium, LIVE on Foxtel, Foxtel Now and Kayo Sports. Buy tickets here.


Force to face Rebels

IN: Pek Cowan, Ian Prior, Johan Bardoul

OUT: Angus Wagner, Jacob Abel, Ollie Atkins

The Force's round five team to face the Rebels.

1. Chris Heiberg

2. Feleti Kaitu'u

3. Kieran Longbottom

4. Jeremy Thrush

5. Fergus Lee Warner

6. Henry Stowers

7. Tevin Ferris

8. Brynard Stander

9. Ian Prior

10. Jono Lance

11. Marcel Brache

12. Richard Kahui

13. Kyle Godwin

14. Byron Ralston

15. Jack McGregor


16. Andrew Ready

17. Pek Cowan

18. Tom Sheminant

19. Johan Bardoul

20. Ollie Callan

21. Nick Frisby

22. Henry Taefu

23. Brad Lacey

Rebels to face Force

IN: Cabous Eloff, Isi Naisarani, Tom Pincus, Brad Wilkin

OUT: Dane Haylett-Petty, Matt Gibbon, Michael Stolberg, Josh Kemeny


1. Cameron Orr

2. Jordan Uelese

3. Jermaine Ainsley

4. Esei Ha'angana

5. Trevor Hosea

6. Michael Wells

7. Richard Hardwick

8. Isi Naisarani

9. Ryan Louwrens

10. Matt To'omua

11. Marika Koroibete

12. Billy Meakes

13. Andrew Kellaway

14. Tom Pincus

15. Reece Hodge


16. Efi Ma'afu

17. Cabous Elouff

18. Pone Fa'amausili

19. Matt Philip

20. Rob Leota

21. Brad Wilkin

22. Frank Lomani

23. Andrew Deegan


Brumbies to face Reds

IN: Darcy Swain, Tom Ross, Tom Cusack

OUT: Murray Douglas, Harry Lloyd, Ben Hyne

1. Scott Sio

2. Folau Fainga'a

3. Allan Alaalatoa

4. Darcy Swain

5. Nick Frost

6. Rob Valetini

7. Will Miller

8. Pete Samu

9. Joe Powell

10. Bayley Kuenzle

11. Tom Wright

12. Irae Simone

13. Tevita Kuridrani

14. Solomone Kata

15. Tom Banks


16. Connal McInerney

17. James Slipper

18. Tom Ross

19. Tom Cusack

20. Locky McCaffrey

21. Issak Fines

22. Mack Hansen

23. Andy Muirhead

Reds to face Brumbies

IN: Angus Blyth, Feao Fotuaika, Jordan Petaia

OUT: Harry Hoopert, Tuaina Taii Taulima, Josh Flook

1. Dane Zander

2. Brandon Paenga-Amosa

3. Taniela Tupou

4. Angus Blyth

5. Lukhan Salakaia-Loto

6. Angus Scott-Young

7. Liam Wright

8. Harry Wilson

9. Scott Malolua

10. James O'Connor

11. Filipo Daugunu

12. Hamish Stewart

13. Hunter Paisami

14. Chris Feauai-Sautia

15. Jock Campbell


16. Alex Mafi

17. Feao Fotuaika

18. Jack Straker

19. Ryan Smith

20. Fraser McReight

21. Tate McDermott

22. Bryce Hegarty

23. Jordan Petaia