Buildcorp Super W: Player of the Year voting revealed

Super W
Beth Newman Profile
by Beth Newman fans have delivered a huge surprise in the voting for the Super W Player of the Year.

Rebels centre Ash Walker earned the most votes of anyone, from the bench of the 23 selected by's experts.

Walker was a star for the Melbourne outfit this season, leading the competition with eight turnovers from four games despite the Rebels only winning one match this season.

Waratahs' try-scoring machine Maya Stewart finished a close second, with the pair the two clear favourites among the voters.

Brumbies backrower Rebecca Smyth was the next best after a sensational comeback season, with Wallaroos and Waratahs captain Grace Hamilton not far behind either.

Reds front rower Liz Patu completed the top five as voted by's readers.

The Super W season, which still has its finals to play, is currently on hold until at least May 1 and while there were hopes of playing the finals series in late May even interstate travel restrictions are making that look increasingly unlikely.

The Waratahs finished the regular season undefeated for the third straight year, earning them a spot in the final.

Queensland and the Brumbies were set to play off in the grand final qualifier for the second consecutive season.


Buildcorp Super W Player of the Year

1. Ash Walker

2. Maya Stewart

3. Rebecca Smyth

4. Grace Hamilton

5. Liz Patu