Super W: Reds rotate pack for Brumbies clash

Super W
Beth Newman Profile
by Beth Newman

Queensland's women have made four changes to their side to take on the Brumbies on Sunday.

The Reds fell just three points short of the competition-leading Waratahs last weekend and a sin against the ACT would secure hosting rights for next weekend's Super W grand final qualifier.

Hooker Ivy Kaleta comes into the starting side for the first time in 2020 with Averyl Mitchell moving to the bench.

Shannon Mato returns to the back row after some time in the lock as Lesa Kaleti Mataata starts at lock.

In the backline, Cobie-Jane Morgan will start at no. 9 and Sarah Riordan will have her first run-on match since 2018 after being named at centre.

Coach Moana Virtue said the moves were about managing players.

"This week we’ve made a few adjustments to the squad as we manage players at the back end of the season," he said

“Ivy (Kaleta) and Lesa (Kaleti Mataafa) have provided plenty of impact for us off the bench so far and deserve the chance to start this week, while Cobie-Jane Morgan starts at half back and Sarah Riordan will her first starting appearance.

“We’ve also welcomed a further three players onto the bench who missed out last week, so it’s great that we have the squad depth to be able to rotate some players and manage their minutes.

“We took a lot out of last week’s narrow loss to NSW, this week is about looking at ourselves and addressing the areas of our game that let us down, but also continuing to build on the quality work that we’ve put in.

‘We’re pumped to play and we’re expecting a tough game against the Brumbies, they are handy at set-piece time.

“They’re a side that stays in the fight right until the final whistle, so we can’t clock off. We need to put in a full 80-minute performance, so that’s where our bench will be handy.”

The winner of this match will finish second on the table and take the hosting rights for the Super W playoff.

The Reds take on the Brumbies at GIO Stadium on Sunday March 16, kicking off at 1;15pm AEDT, LIVE on, Foxtel and Kayo Sports.


Queensland to face the Brumbies

1. Liz Patu – Wests

2. Ivy Kaleta – Easts

3. Christina Sekona – Sunnybank

4. Kiri Lingman - Easts

5. Lesa Kaleti Mataafa - Sunnybank

6. Shannon Mato - Easts

7. Lavinia Gould – Wests

8. Okeroa Manihera - Sunnybank

9. Cobie-Jane Morgan – Bond University

10. Zahara Temara – Helensvale

11. Ivania Wong - Sunnybank

12. Sarah Riordan – Wests/ADF

13. Alana Elisaia - Brothers

14. Lori Cramer (C) – University of Queensland

15. Courtney Hodder – Sunnybank


16. Averyl Mitchell – Souths

17. Bree-Anna Cheatham – Wests/ADF

18. Toa Filimoehala - Easts

19. Saxon Campbell – Souths

20. Gabby Senft – Bond University

21. Destiny Brill – Sunnybank

22. Melanie Wilks – Bond University

23. Maraea Tupai – Wests