Super W: Waratahs name fresh blood in 2020 squad

Super W
Beth Newman Profile
by Beth Newman

The defending Super W champion Waratahs have brought in a host of new faces as they bid for a third-straight title in 2020.

New coach Campbell Aitken has made 12 changes to his squad from the 2019 that beat Queensland in the competition final at Leichhardt Oval.

A number of familiar names are missing in 2020, including veteran Ash Hewson who retired from Super W while former Aussie 7s representative Georgie Friedrichs headlines the new names in the group.

This 30-player squad has been cut down from an extended preseason group that has been training together for the better part of the last month.

"We’ve put together a really strong squad, we’re [coaching staff] excited about getting stuck into preparations for the season ahead,” Aitken said.

“In saying that, we had to make some tough decisions and leave out some fantastic players who did a great job over the last month of training.

“Through the Jack Scott Cup and the programs run by NSW Rugby we have developed some incredible depth right across the park, which has also seen us have some strong representation at a national level.

“It’s always tough leaving players out but I’d like to thank everyone for being part of our pre-season program.”

Aitken said he was excited by the prospect of seeing some of the team's additions grow.

“Players like Lilyann Mason-Spice and Piper Duck are really exciting prospects,” added Aitken.

“To have them in a Super W environment and around experienced players week-in-week-out is only going to benefit their development as players.”

The 2020 Super W draw is yet to be announced but the third year of the competition is expected to begin in February.


2020 Waratahs Super Wsquad

IN: Aaliya Fa'amausili, Adiana Talakai, Atasi Lafai, Bridie O'Gorman, Courtney Frankl, Georgie Friedrichs, Jade Huggins, Layne Morgan, Lilyann mason-Spice, Oneata Shwalger, Pauline Piliae, Piper Duck

OUT: Loretta Milangi, Pareake O'Brien, Analise Sio, Alex Sulusi, Tisera Volkman, Matalena Wilson, Ash Hewson, Kirrily Laws, Phoebe Loughhead, Crystal Maguire, Mahalia Murphy, Amy Turner

Aaliyah Fa’amausili* - Randwick

AdianaTalakai* - Sydney University

Arabella McKenzie - Randwick

Asoiva (Eva) Karpani - Randwick

Atasi Lafai - Campbelltown

Bridie O'Gorman*- Sydney University

Chloe Leaupepe - Western Sydney Two Blues

Courtney Frankl - Eastern Suburbs

Emily Chancellor - Sydney University

Emily Robinson - Warringah

Evelyn Horomia - Western Sydney Two Blues

Fi Jones - Sydney University

Georgina Friedrichs - Randwick

Grace Hamilton - Sydney University

Iliseva Batibasaga - Sydney University

Jade Huggins* Western Sydney Two Blues

Jemima Henry - Campbelltown

Katrina Barker- Newcastle Waratahs

Kennedy Cherrington - Randwick

Layne Morgan* - Randwick

Lillyann Mason – Spice* - Central West

Maya Stewart - Newcastle Waratahs

Melissa Fatu - Western Sydney Two Blues

Noella Green - Sydney University

Oneata Schwalger - Randwick

Pauline Piliae* - Blacktown

Piper Duck* - Sydney University

Sera Naiqama - Sydney University

Shanice Parker - Warringah

Taz Sheppard - Sydney University