Teen talent surge continues as Aussie girls claim World Schools 7s win

by RUGBY.com.au staff

Australia’s young female talent continued to shine at the weekend with the Australian Girls Schools sevens team winning the World School 7s tournament in New Zealand.

Led by NSW’s Bienne Terita, who was named player of the tournament, the Aussie girls defeated Japan in the Cup final in Hamilton.

<><> Keebra Park’s Tiana Raftstrand-Smith and cross-code talent Jaime Chapman were also named in the team of the tournament after star efforts across the weekend.<>

<><> <>The surge of talented teenage girls in Aussie sevens is immense, with rising stars Maddison Ashby, Sariah Paki, Georgia Hannaway, Jakiya Whitfeld and Hagiga Mosby already playing with the Australian team.

The Australian Boys Schools sevens team were unable to defend their 2018 title and were knocked out of the tournament by the New Zealand Fijian team in the semi-finals.

New Zealand Condors team won the boys competition.

Over 30 teams from New Zealand, Australia, USA, Japan and the Pacific region competed in the tournament.


Australia (Girls)

Isabella Nasser, Bienne Terita, Cassey Tohi-Hiku, Jaime Chapman, Kaitlin Shave, Sidney Taylor, Eloise Ryan, Lily Murdoch, Tiana Raftstrand-Smith, Piper Duck, Rueben Cherrington, Faythe Manera, Teagan Levi, Maddison Levi

Head Coach: Lachlan Parkinson, Asst Coach: Nathan McMahon, Trainer: Jacinta Mattingly, Physio/Medic: Lindsay Muir

Australia (Boys)

Jordan Williams, Deitrich Roache, Norwin Latu, Dally Bird, Heath Lancaster, Winiata Cherrington, Lucas Niedzwiecki, Nic Benn, Mitchell Bell, Matthew Engelbrecht, Louis Werchon, Ben Dowling, Flloyd Aubrey, David Vaihu.  

Head Coach: Cassidy Holland, Asst Coach: Hugh Carpenter, Trainer: Leigh Smith, Physio/Medic: Andy Farley