Alaalatoa wins 2019 RUPA Medal for Excellence

Super Rugby
Beth Newman Profile
by Beth Newman

Wallabies and Brumbies prop Allan Alaalatoa has taken out the RUPA Medal for Excellence at this year's players' association awards.

Alaalatoa was rewarded for a stellar season in both Super Rugby and Tests, winning the gong voted on by every Super Rugby player of 2019.

The medal for excellence also considers off-field achievements and conduct, with the votes recognising Alaalatoa's work in completing studies and setting a strong example away from rugby as well.

Alaalatoa is just the second prop to take out the award, joining Brumbies teammate James Slipper as one of the winners.

Wallaroos captain Grace Hamilton became the second woman to win the People's Choice Award after her fearless efforts leading her team and women's rugby in Australia this year.

Reds rookie Isaac Lucas took out the newcomer of the year, while fellow Queenslander Angus Scott-Young won the Academic Achievement Award for his university studies.

Sevens speedsters Ellia Green and Maurice Longbottom were voted the Players' Players for their respective Sevens outfits after impressive campaigns in 2018-19.

New Rebels recruit Andrew Deegan was voted the NRC Players' Player of the Year after helping the Force to the NRC crown this season.

Alaalatoa's Brumbies teammate Locky McCaffrey took out the Community Service Award, acknowledging much of the hard work the backrower does to help disadvantaged communities in the Pacific Islands.


RUPA Medal For Excellence

Allan Alaalatoa (Brumbies)

Newcomer of the Year

Isaac Lucas (Queensland Reds)

Community Service Award

Lachlan McCaffrey (Brumbies)

Academic Achievement Award

Angus Scott-Young (Queensland Reds)

Taylors Wines’ People’s Choice Australian Player of the Year

Grace Hamilton (Buildcorp Wallaroos)

NRC Players’ Player of the Year Award

Andrew Deegan (Western Force/Melbourne Rebels)

Australian Men’s Rugby Sevens Players’ Player of the Year

Maurice Longbottom

Australian Women’s Rugby Sevens Players’ Player of the Year

Ellia Green