Wales vs France: Biggar and Davies cleared to play quarter-final, France make five changes

Rugby World Cup
by AFP

Key Wales backs Jonathan Davies and Dan Biggar have both been passed fit as they were picked for the Rugby World Cup quarter-final against France on Sunday.

Centre Davies has recovered from a knee problem suffered against Fiji nine days ago, while fly-half Biggar has completed the return to play protocols required of players coming back from a head injury.

Elsewhere in the backs, powerhouse wing George North has overcome an ankle injury, with coach Warren Gatland naming the same starting side that defeated fellow quarter-finalists Australia 29-25 in pool play last month.

Wales are again led by veteran lock Alun Wyn Jones, with Aaron Wainwright, Justin Tipuric and Josh Navidi forming the back row.

Wales have beaten France seven times in their past eight meetings but the French defeated the Welsh in a 2011 World Cup semi-final.

Influential halfback Antoine Dupont has been passed fit for France after battling a back problem.

Antoine Dupont will start for France in Oita. Photo: Getty ImagesDupont, who Wales head coach Warren Gatland believes is one of the world's best No.9s, had been troubled by the injury but he will take his place alongside halves partner Romain Ntamack in Oita.

France head coach Jacques Brunel has made five changes from the side that defeated Tonga last time out.

Dupont replaces Baptiste Serin, while skipper and hooker Guilhem Guirado returns, in addition to lock Bernard Le Roux, winger Yoann Huget and centre Gael Fickou.

Fullback Maxime Medard is the only survivor from the France team that beat Wales 9-8 in the 2011 World Cup semi-finals in New Zealand.

Wales take on France in their Rugby World Cup quarter-final on Sunday October 20 at Oita Stadium, kicking off at 4:15pm local, 6:15pm AEDT, LIVE on Foxtel and via RADIO, Rugby Xplorer and Amazon Alexa.


Wales to play France

1. Wyn Jones

2. Ken Owens

3. Tom Francis

4. Jake Ball

5. Alun Wyn Jones (capt.)

6. Aaron Wainwright

7. Justin Tipuric

8. Josh Navidi

9. Gareth Davies

10. Dan Biggar

11. Josh Adams

12. Hadleigh Parkes

13. Jonathan Davies

14. George North

15. Liam Williams


16. Elliot Dee

17. Rhys Carre

18. Dillon Lewis

19. Adam Beard

20. Ross Moriarty

21. Tomos Williams

22. Rhys Patchell

23. Owen Watkin

France to play Wales

1. Jefferson Poirot

2. Guilhem Guirado (capt.)

3. Rabah Slimani

4. Bernard Le Roux

5. Sebastien Vahaamahina

6. Wenceslas Lauret

7. Charles Ollivon

8. Gregorie Alldritt

9. Antoine Dupont

10. Romain Ntamack

11. Yoann Huget

12. Gael Fickou

13. Virimi Vakatawa

14. Damian Penaud

15. Maxime Medard


16. Camille Chat

17. Cyril Baille

18. Emerick Setiano

19. Paul Gabrillagues

20. Louis Picamoles

21. Baptiste Serin

22. Camille Lopez

23. Vincent Rattez