Uni 7s Hub: All the teams and fixture times ahead of Round 3 at the University of Adelaide

Uni 7s
by Emma Greenwood

The third round of the Aon Uni 7s kicks off at the University of Adelaide this weekend, with the University of Queensland still leading the competition despite their loss to Griffith in the final last round.

Defending series champions Griffith bounced back to win Round 2 at Bond University after bowing out in the semi-final in the season-opener.

But UQ maintained their series lead after making the decider and take a four-point lead over their Queensland rivals into the penultimate round.

Griffith University celebrate their Uni 7s win at Bond. Photo: Karen Watson

With the Aussie 7s players earning a well-deserved break following their grand final appearance at the World Series opener in Colorado last weekend, the Uni 7s teams are again without their national representatives.

But there are still plenty of stars taking part.

After an extended injury-enforced sideline stint, Demi Hayes will return to the field in Adelaide, the Aussie sevens star lining up for Griffith Uni in her first tournament in a year.

It's a prospect that excites national coach John Manenti.

"Plan Demi would be to play her in the next two (Aon) tournaments and then bring her to Oceania and then hopefully that will put her in good stead for the Dubai-Cape Town (world series legs) tour," he said..

"We're really excited for her to be playing again. It's such a hard road when they're injured and it's great to see her back.


"And one of our development players, Faith Nathan, who's had a couple of niggles that kept her off the park is playing her first Aon too, so we're excited to see her play as well."

In a season reduced to four rounds this year, points are at a premium and Griffith and Round 1 runners-up, competition newcomers UTS, will be out to claim the top gong.

After bowing out in the semi-finals in both rounds so far, Sydney Uni are also out to change their luck and keep their series hopes alive.

Watch every game LIVE at RUGBY.com.au.


Pool A: Griffith University, University of Sydney, University of Adelaide, University of Western Australia, University of Melbourne

Pool B: University of Queensland, University of Canberra, Bond University, University of Technology Sydney, University of New England


Bond University: Aleena Greenhalgh, Sara Sautia, Madison Schuck, Harmony Hau, Bailey Marshall, Stephanie Rutherford, Melanie Wilks, Chante Bates, Gabrielle Senft, Sarafina Vosuqa, Emily Bass, Grace Qaranivalu.

Griffith University: Ivania Wong, Cecilia Smith, Laura Waldie, Taylor Fenton, Lily Dick, Kahli Henwood, Charlotte Kennington, Yolanda Gittins, Georgia Devlin, Ngaupoko Masters, Eloise Schlect, Katie Curtis, Demi Hayes.

University of Adelaide: Lauren Potter, Mahalia Murphy, Jasmine Joyce, Courtney Munroe, Hannah Jones, Zara Lee, Brianna Nathan, Lauren Kildare, Rebekah Jones, Eva Karpani, Kelly Rowe, D'Arcy Sadler. 

Mahalia Murphy will play for the University of Adelaide. Photo: Getty Images

University of Canberra: Biola Dawa, Brooke Gilroy, Ainsley Scrivener, Lily Murdoch, Skye Churchill, Ella Ryan, Rachel Crothers, Aroha Spillane, Darcy Read, Claudia Obst, Lillyann Mason Spice,    Alahna Ryan.

UNE:Mereseini Leivere, Willemijn ter Avest, Britney Duff, Shenay Ball, Leilani Nathan, Paris Ingegneri, Jocelyn Kelleher, Nicole Nathan, Emma Bradford, Maya Stewart, Kika Mulling, Anika Butler. 

University of Melbourne: Annie Buntine, Ashleigh Walker, Tangata Tupou, Tiarah Minns, Reni Hicks, Tamara Whiteside, Halley Derera, Caitlin Ryan, Page McGregor, Amy Williams, Beauty Autalaga, Tyra Boysen-Auimatagi, Page McGregor.

University of Sydney: Iliseva Batisbasaga, Olivia White, Jakiya Whitfeld, Emily Chancellor, Rhiannon Parker, Piper Duck, Claire Woolmington, Jemima McCalman, Grace Hamilton, Nina Vistisen, Barbara Waddell, Lauren Murty.

University of Queensland: Bella Nasser, Sidney Taylor, Lori Cramer, Georgia Hannaway, Amelia Kuk, Haj Mosby, Shenae Ciesolka, Melita Hicks, Jannicke Ijdens, Pleuni Kievit, Terri-anne Egan, Kaitlin Shave.

UQ celebrate their win in the opening round of the Aon Uni 7s at the University of Queensland. Photo: Karen Watson

UTS: Arabella McKenzie, Kennedy Cherrington, Mareva Swann, Layne Morgan, Cassey Tohi-Hiku, Luisa Yaranamua, Tamsin Barber, Leanne Toomalatai, Montana Walters, Tia Hinds, Bienne Terita, Faith Nathan.

UWA: Brooklyn Joyce, Pania Kara, Neesha Barrett, Zakiya Kereopa, Langley Sesega, Zion Taurima, Ariana Ruru- Hinaki, Rueben Cherrington, Crystal Walters, Nicole Ledington, Leanna Ryan, Tamika Jones.



Saturday 12 October

Round 1

Griffith University v University of Melbourne, 9:00am

University of Adelaide v University of Sydney, 9:20am

University of Technology – Sydney v University of Queensland, 9:40am

University of Canberra v Bond University, 10:00am

Round 2:

Griffith University v University of Adelaide, 11:00am

University of Western Australia v University of Sydney, 11:20am

Bond University v University of Technology Sydney, 11:40am

University of New England v University of Canberra, 12:00pm


Round 3:

Griffith University v University of Western Australia, 1:00pm

University of Adelaide v University of Melbourne, 1:20pm

University of Technology Sydney v University of New England, 1:40pm

University of Queensland v Bond University, 2:00pm

Round 4:

University of Western Australia v University of Melbourne, 3:00pm

Griffith University v University of Sydney, 3:20pm

University of New England v University of Queensland, 3:40pm

University of Canberra v University of Technology Sydney, 4:00pm

Sunday 13 October

Round 5:

University of Western Australia v University of Adelaide, 9:00am

University of Melbourne v University of Sydney, 9:20am

Bond University v University of New England, 9:40am

University of Queensland v University of Canberra, 10:00am


3rd Pool A v 4th Pool B, 11:00am

3rd Pool B v 4th Pool A, 11:20am

1st Pool A v 2nd Pool B, 11:40am

1st Pool B v 1st Pool A, 12:00pm


9th/10th Playoff, 1:00pm

7th/8th Playoff, 1:25pm

5th/6th Playoff, 1:50pm

Bronze Medal Match, 2:15pm

Gold Medal Match, 2:40pm



After Round 2

University of Qld 38pts

Griffith University 34pts

Sydney Uni 30pts

UTS 26pts

Uni of Adelaide 24pts

Uni of Canberra 24pts

Bond Uni 14pts

Uni of Melbourne 14pts

UWA 8pts

UNE 8pts