Uni 7s: UQ, Sydney Uni in box seat heading into day two at Bond

Uni 7s
by RUGBY.com.au staff

The University of Queensland is firming as favourite to repeat its round one success after topping the competition ladder on the opening day of the Aon Uni 7s at Bond University on the Gold Coast.

But a loss to defending series champions Griffith shows victory is no certainty in a round that remains relatively open heading into the points end of competition.

UQ and the University of Sydney lead the ladder with three wins from four round matches on the opening day and will seal a spot in the semi-finals on Sunday morning.

Mahalia Murphy in action for the University of Adelaide. Photo: Rugby AU Media/Karen Murphy

Sydney Uni was defeated in the final play of the day, going down to round one finalists UTS 19-15 in a tightly contested match. 

But with teams missing their Australian representatives – who have left to contest the opening round of the world series in the US – results are far from predictable.

After narrowly escaping a 10th-place finish in the opening round, Bond University opened their home contest with a shock win over Griffith University and finished the day in the middle of Pool A with a win, a loss and a draw from three strong games.


The University of Queensland have won the opening round of the Aon Uni 7s at St Lucia. Photo: Karen Watson

And the University of Canberra ambushed round one runner-up UTS with a 29-5 victory to start their round two campaign on a high before going on to beat the University of Melbourne, leaving them in finals contention. 

Teams will return to Bond University in the morning for their final pool matches ahead of the finals later in the afternoon.

Day two action will be broadcast LIVE on RUGBY.com.au from 9am.




Saturday 28 September


Round 1:

University of Queensland 26 d University of Adelaide 21

Bond University 17 d Griffith University 12

UTS 5 def by University of Canberra 29 

University of Melbourne 7 def by University of Sydney 31 

Round 2:

University of Queensland 24 d Bond University 12

Griffith University 22 d UNE 19

University of Canberra 0 def by University of Sydney 24 

UTS 26 d University of Western Australia 24

Round 3:

University of Adelaide 26 d UNE 12

Griffith University 14 d University of Queensland 7 

University of Sydney 17 d University of Western Australia 14 

University of Canberra 17 d University of Melbourne 0 

Round 4:

University of Adelaide  12 drew Bond University 12

University of Queensland 28 d UNE 24

University of Western Australia 14 d University of Melbourne 10

University of Sydney 15 def by UTS 19


Sunday 29 September

Round 5:

UNE v Bond University, 9:00am

Griffith University v University of Adelaide, 9:20am

University of Melbourne v UTS, 9:40am

University of Western Australia v University of Canberra, 10:00am


3rd Pool A v 4th Pool B, 11.00am

3rd Pool B v 4th Pool A, 11.20am

1st Pool A v 2nd Pool B, 11.40am

1st Pool B v 1st Pool A, 12.00am


9th/10th Playoff, 1.00pm

7th/8th Playoff, 1.25pm

5th/6th Playoff, 1.50pm

Bronze Medal Match, 2.15pm

Gold Medal Match, 2.40pm