Wallaroo Cramer to captain UQ in Aon Uni 7s

Uni 7s
by Emma Greenwood

Wallaroos back Lori Cramer has been named captain of a 24-player University of Queensland squad for the Aon Uni 7s which kicks off in Brisbane in a fortnight.

UQ will host the opening weekend of the four-round series, with members of the national sevens squad to turn out in two tournaments, including the opener.

A heavyweight of the competition, UQ finished runner-up to Griffith last year and will be out to go one better this season.

Australia Sevens players Emma Sykes, Cassie Staples and Haj Mosby have been allocated to UQ for the series.

Lori Cramer lines up a kick in the Test against the Black Ferns at Eden Park. Photo: RUGBY.com.au/Stuart Walmsley

Cramer, who will have plenty of back-up for her leadership from vice-captains Mackenzie Sadler and Holland international Jannicke Ijdens, said the team was full of enthusiasm and energy.

“We are always looking to build and get better and improve,” Cramer said. 

“We want to be competitive and we will be competitive.” 

The squad consists of 23 UQ Rugby Football Club members, including Australian and Papua New Guinea Rugby League international Amelia Kuk.

Rugby league convert Amelia Kuk will play for UQ in the Uni 7s. Photo: Getty Images

Team UQ head coach Reg Tayler said the University was building for the future with the new squad members. 

“We are really excited with the team we have,” Tayler said. 

“They are a young squad and we are looking to see how they go during the series. 

“We have had a really good preparation so we are all ready to go and looking forward to seeing how we can perform.”


The series, now in its third year, will feature 10 teams with The University of Western Australia and University of Technology Sydney entering for the first time. 

Tayler said after winning the inaugural title, UQ was aiming to get to the top again in 2019 after finishing runners-up to Griffith last season. 

"Griffith are the favourites on paper and have been for the past two years," he said. 

“This year they have the most amount of Australian-contracted players and will be the benchmark. 

“Our young players are looking forward to the challenge of playing them." 

All Uni 7s matches will be broadcast LIVE on Rugby.com.au.


University of Queensland

Amy Brice

Cassie Carberry

Shenae Ciesiolka

Lori Cramer (captain)

Paige Edwards

Terri-anne Egan

Jada Ferguson

Georgia Hannaway

Melita Hicks

Pleuni Kievit

Ashlee Knight

Amelia Kuk

Jannicke Ijdens (vice-captain)

Haj Mosby

Katie Muscat

Isabella Nasser

Mackenzie Sadler (vice-captain)

Jessee Santo

Kaitlin Shave

Cassie Staples

Emma Sykes

Sidney Taylor

Makenzie Weale

Nat Wright


2019 Aon Uni 7s Series – Fixtures

Round 1 - The University of Queensland, Brisbane (14-15 September)

Round 2 - Bond University, Gold Coast (28-29 September)

Round 3 - The University of Adelaide, Adelaide (12-13 October)

Round 4 - University of Canberra, Canberra (26-27 October)