TEAM NEWS: Rio champion to face off against home town rivals for Force

Rapid Rugby
by staff

Olympic gold medallist Masivesi Dakuwaqa will start for the Force against the Fijian Latui this weekend.

Dakuwaqa was part of Fiji's historic 2016 Rio Olympic champion team but this weekend he will be the foe in his home country.

The Force have also called on rookie scrumhalf Tom Sheminant for their clash.

With skipper Ian Prior injured, Issak Fines will start at nine with FMG Premier Grade talent Sheminant on the bench for his debut.

Flyhald Andrew Deegan will play his first match since suffering a thumg injury back in March, coming off the bench, while fullback Jack McGregor starts in place of youngster Clay Uyen.

Prop Markuz Vanzati has his first start of the year with Chris Alcock also elevated to the starting side, replacing Tevin Ferris.

The Fijians have their own recognisable names, with Test flyhalf Frank Lomani coming into the side for the match.

The Force take on the Fijian Latui on Saturday May 25 at 1pm AEST.

In: Markus Vanzati, Masivesi Dakuwaqa, Harrison Lloyd, Andrew Deegan and Leon Power

Out: Chris Heiberg, Rod Davies, Rodney Iona, Ben Grant and Angus Taylor.

Force to face Fijian Latui

1. Markus Vanzati,

2. Heath Tessmann

3. Kieran Longbottom

4. Johan Bardoul

5. Fergus Lee-Warner

6. Henry Stowers

7. Chris Alcock

8. Brynard Stander

9. Issak Fines

10. AJ Alatimu

11. Brad Lacey

12. Henry Taefu

13. Marcel Brache

14. Masivesi Dakuwaqa

15. Jack McGregor


16. Felei Faitu'u

17. Harrison Lloyd

18. Tom Sheminant

19. Leon Power

20. Tevin Ferris

21. Rory O'Sullivan

22. Andrew Deegan

23. Clay Uyen

Fijian Latui to face Force

1. Eroni Mawi

2. Veremalua Vugakoto

3. Luke Tagi

4. Peni Naulago

5. Tuifagalele Soro

6. Mosese Voka

7. Elia Canakaivata

8. Johnny Dyer

9. Frank Lomani

10. Tuidraki Samusamuvodre

11. Joeli Lutumailagi

12. John Stewart

13. Ifereimi Tovilevu

14. Apisalome Waqatabu

15. Enele Malele Tikotani


16. Mesulame Dolokoto

17. Joeli Veitayaki

18. Apisai Vatubuli

19. Filimoni Seru

20. Peni Radire

21. Seru Vularika

22. Apisalome Vota

23. Tira Patterson Wilagi